compromise.html - en to zh_TW translation catalogue (31 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Avoiding Ruinous Compromises - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_TW: 避免毀滅性的妥協 - GNU 專案 - 自由軟體基金會

note: type: Content of: <h2>
en: Avoiding Ruinous Compromises
zh_TW: 避免毀滅性的妥協

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: by Richard Stallman
zh_TW: 作者為 Richard Stallman

note: type: Content of: <blockquote><p>
en: &ldquo;Twenty-five years ago <a href="/gnu/initial-announcement.html">on September 27, 1983, I announced a plan</a> to create a completely free operating system called GNU&mdash;for &lsquo;GNU's Not Unix&rsquo;.  As part of the 25th anniversary of the GNU system, I have written this article on how our community can avoid ruinous compromises.  In addition to avoiding such compromises, there are many ways you can <a href="/help/help.html">help GNU</a> and free software.  One basic way is to <a href="https://www.fsf.org/associate/support_freedom/join_fsf?referrer=4052"> join the Free Software Foundation</a> as an Associate Member.&rdquo;&mdash;<b>Richard Stallman</b>
zh_TW: 「25年前，<a href="/gnu/initial-announcement.html">也就是1983年9月27日，我宣佈了一項計畫</a>，希望創造一套完全自由的作業系統，稱之為 GNU，意為『GNU 並非 UNIX』(GNU's Not Unix)。作為 GNU 系統25周年紀念的一部份，我寫下本文，提醒這個社群的朋友，如何才能避免毀滅性的妥協。除了避免這類妥協以外，你還有很多方法可以<a href="/help/help.html">協助 GNU</a> 與自由軟體。其中最簡單的一種方式就是<a href="https://www.fsf.org/associate/support_freedom/join_fsf?referrer=4052">加入自由軟體基金會</a>成為會員。」──<b>Richard Stallman</b>

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: The free software movement aims for a social change: <a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">to make all software free</a> so that all software users are free and can be part of a community of cooperation.  Every nonfree program gives its developer unjust power over the users.  Our goal is to put an end to that injustice.
zh_TW: 自由軟體運動旨在實現社會變革：<a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">讓所有軟體走向自由</a>，只有這樣，所有的軟體使用者才能自由，並參與到合作的社群中。每個非自由軟體都賦予其開發者凌駕於使用者之上的權力。而我們的目標就是要消除這種不公正的現象。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: The road to freedom is <a href="http://www.fsf.org/bulletin/2008/spring/the-last-mile-is-always-the-hardest/"> a long road</a>.  It will take many steps and many years to reach a world in which it is normal for software users to have freedom.  Some of these steps are hard, and require sacrifice.  Some of them become easier if we make compromises with people that have different goals.
zh_TW: 自由之路<a href="http://www.fsf.org/bulletin/2008/spring/the-last-mile-is-always-the-hardest/">道阻且長</a>。在未來的日子裡，我們仍要走得更遠，才能讓所有軟體使用者享有自由。有些步驟較為困難，需要我們做出犧牲。假如我們與其他有著不同目標的人達成妥協，我們的路也許會走得比較容易。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Thus, the <a href="http://www.fsf.org/">Free Software Foundation</a> makes compromises&mdash;even major ones.  For instance, we made compromises in the patent provisions of version 3 of the <a href="/licenses/gpl.html">GNU General Public License</a> (GNU GPL) so that major companies would contribute to and distribute GPLv3-covered software and thus bring some patents under the effect of these provisions.
zh_TW: 因此，<a href="http://www.fsf.org/">自由軟體基金會</a>也作出妥協──甚至是重大的妥協。舉例來說，我們在第三版的<a href="/licenses/gpl.html">GNU 通用公眾授權</a> (GNU GPL) 中就專利方面的規定作出了妥協，讓一些大公司能夠參與，並釋出以 GPLv3 授權的軟體。我們的協議書中就包含了相關的專利條款。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: <a href="/licenses/lgpl.html">The Lesser GPL</a>'s purpose is a compromise: we use it on certain chosen free libraries to permit their use in nonfree programs because we think that legally prohibiting this would only drive developers to proprietary libraries instead.  We accept and install code in GNU programs to make them work together with common nonfree programs, and we document and publicize this in ways that encourage users of the latter to install the former, but not vice versa.  We support specific campaigns we agree with, even when we don't fully agree with the groups behind them.
zh_TW: <a href="/licenses/lgpl.html">GNU 寬鬆通用公眾授權</a> (LGPL) 也是一項妥協：我們選定幾個自由的函式庫，並讓它們可以用於專有軟體中，因為我們認為，要是從法律上禁止這類的使用的話，開發者只會去使用專有的函式庫。我們允許開發者在專有軟體中使用 GNU 的程式，並透過文件進行說明，表明我們鼓勵使用自由軟體的立場。我們也會支持某些我們所認同的活動，儘管我們並不完全認同他們所屬的團體。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: But we reject certain compromises even though many others in our community are willing to make them.  For instance, we <a href="/distros/free-system-distribution-guidelines.html"> endorse only the GNU/Linux distributions</a> that have policies not to include nonfree software or lead users to install it.  To endorse nonfree distributions would be a <acronym title="ruinous (r&#363;'&#601;-n&#601;s) adj. 1. Causing or apt to cause ruin; destructive.  2. Falling to ruin; dilapidated or decayed.">ruinous</acronym> compromise.
zh_TW: 但我們也反對某些妥協行為，雖然我們社群中許多其他人可能會想要這樣的妥協。舉例來說，我們只認同那些不包含非自由軟體或引導使用者去安裝它們的 <a href="/distros/free-system-distribution-guidelines.html">GNU/Linux 散佈版</a>。我們認為，認同包含專有軟體成份的散佈版是一種毀滅性的妥協。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Compromises are ruinous if they would work against our aims in the long term.  That can occur either at the level of ideas or at the level of actions.
zh_TW: 我們認為，那些從長遠來看和我們的目標背道而馳的妥協是具毀滅性的。這類妥協可能發生在思想上，也可能發生在行動上。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: At the level of ideas, ruinous compromises are those that reinforce the premises we seek to change.  Our goal is a world in which software users are free, but as yet most computer users do not even recognize freedom as an issue.  They have taken up &ldquo;consumer&rdquo; values, which means they judge any program only on practical characteristics such as price and convenience.
zh_TW: 思想上的妥協就是那些只會對我們的努力形成反作用力的妥協，我們的目標是創造一個所有軟體使用者都享有自由的世界，但是，就以現在來說，大多數的電腦使用者還不把自由當一回事。他們被一種「消費者主義」的價值觀所包圍。換言之，他們對任何軟體只考慮實用層面，例如價格高低與是否好用。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Dale Carnegie's classic self-help book, <cite>How to Win Friends and Influence People</cite>, advises that the most effective way to persuade someone to do something is to present arguments that appeal to per values.  There are ways we can appeal to the consumer values typical in our society.  For instance, free software obtained gratis can save the user money.  Many free programs are convenient and reliable, too.  Citing those practical benefits has succeeded in persuading many users to adopt various free programs, some of which are now quite successful.
zh_TW: 戴爾·卡內基寫過一本著名的勵志書<cite>《卡內基溝通與人際關係——如何贏取友誼與影響他人》</cite>，書裡提到，要說服別人做某件事有一種最有效的方法，就是向這些人展示迎合他們自身價值觀判斷的論據。在這個社會裡，我們可以用很多種方法來迎合消費者的口味。比方說，免費取得的自由軟體可以為使用者省錢。也有很多的自由軟體是好用且可靠的。透過向人們展現自由軟體的這些特色，我們說服了很多使用者採納自由軟體，其中有些現在很成功。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: If getting more people to use some free programs is as far as you aim to go, you might decide to keep quiet about the concept of freedom, and focus only on the practical advantages that make sense in terms of consumer values.  That's what the term &ldquo;open source&rdquo; and its associated rhetoric do.
zh_TW: 如果吸引更多人使用自由軟體是我們的終極目標，那我們就不會提及自由的概念，而只會提到那些容易為使用者所理解的實用性的特性。這就是「開放原始碼」一詞與其鼓吹者的用意。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: That approach can get us only part way to the goal of freedom.  People who use free software only because it is convenient will stick with it only as long as it is more convenient.  And they will see no reason not to use convenient proprietary programs along with it.
zh_TW: 但如果這樣做的話，就是半途而廢，也就摘取不到自由的果實。對於那些基於實用性的考量而開始使用自由軟體的使用者，軟體好用，他們就會用；不好用，他們就會離去。他們也會抵擋不住專有軟體的誘惑，只要後者好用就行。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: The philosophy of open source presupposes and appeals to consumer values, and this affirms and reinforces them.  That's why we <a href="/philosophy/open-source-misses-the-point.html">do not advocate open source.</a>
zh_TW: 開放原始碼支持者們的理念是以消費者的需求為第一要務，他們的行動也印證了他們的這個理念。這正好就是我們為什麼<a href="/philosophy/open-source-misses-the-point.html">不提倡開放原始碼</a>的原因。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: To establish a free community fully and lastingly, we need to do more than get people to use some free software.  We need to spread the idea of judging software (and other things) on &ldquo;citizen values&rdquo;, based on whether it respects users' freedom and community, not just in terms of convenience.  Then people will not fall into the trap of a proprietary program baited by an attractive, convenient feature.
zh_TW: 要建立一個有系統且長久的自由軟體社群，單靠吸引更多人使用自由軟體是不夠的。我們要宣揚一種理念，要號召人們根據軟體（與其他東西）的「公民價值」來進行選擇。要仔細辨別軟體是否尊重使用者的自由，而不只是以單一的易用性為判斷依據。只有這樣，人們才不會受到那些以易用為誘餌的專有軟體的蠱惑。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: To promote citizen values, we have to talk about them and show how they are the basis of our actions.  We must reject the Dale Carnegie compromise that would influence their actions by endorsing their consumer values.
zh_TW: 要提倡「公民價值」，我們就必須對這樣的價值進行演繹，向人們說明為何這是我們行動的基石。我們必須抵制卡內基式的妥協，因為那樣的妥協是以支持消費者的價值觀為基礎來影響其行為的。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: This is not to say we cannot cite practical advantage at all&mdash;we can and we do.  It becomes a problem only when the practical advantage steals the scene and pushes freedom into the background.  Therefore, when we cite the practical advantages of free software, we reiterate frequently that those are just <em>additional, secondary</em> reasons to prefer it.
zh_TW: 但這並不是說我們不能提及自由軟體的實用性優勢，我們當然還是可以這麼做。但一旦人們忽視了自由，而純粹只強調實用性時，問題就出現了。所以當我們提到自由軟體的實用性優勢時，我們要反覆強調的一點是，比起我們的價值選擇，實用性只是<em>附加且次要的</em>。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: It's not enough to make our words accord with our ideals; our actions have to accord with them too.  So we must also avoid compromises that involve doing or legitimizing the things we aim to stamp out.
zh_TW: 我們不單只是要在言辭上反映我們的思想，在行動上我們也要這麼做。所以，我們不能參與那些我們致力鏟除的活動，也不可以認同這樣的作為，這都是我們必須避免的妥協行為。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: For instance, experience shows that you can attract some users to <a href="/gnu/why-gnu-linux.html">GNU/Linux</a> if you include some nonfree programs.  This could mean a cute nonfree application that will catch some user's eye, or a nonfree programming platform such as <a href="/philosophy/java-trap.html">Java</a> (formerly) or the Flash runtime (still), or a nonfree device driver that enables support for certain hardware models.
zh_TW: 舉例來說，經驗表明，要是在 <a href="/gnu/why-gnu-linux.html">GNU/Linux 散佈版</a>中加入一些專有軟體的成份，就可以博得更多使用者的青睞。比如某個帶有專有軟體成份的漂亮程式，或是像 <a href="/philosophy/java-trap.html">Java</a>（曾經是）或是 Flash 執行環境（仍然是）這樣的專有程式平臺，或是某個為了支援現有硬體型號的專有驅動程式。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: These compromises are tempting, but they undermine the goal.  If you distribute nonfree software, or steer people towards it, you will find it hard to say, &ldquo;Nonfree software is an injustice, a social problem, and we must put an end to it.&rdquo; And even if you do continue to say those words, your actions will undermine them.
zh_TW: 很多人會作出這類妥協，但這樣就會抹殺我們的努力。如果你把專有軟體散佈出去，或是誘導人們使用這類軟體，你很難跟人們解釋說「專有軟體是不公正的，它們是社會問題，我們必須消滅它。」即使你跟人們反覆強調這個論點，你的行為本身只會削弱你口中言語的力量。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: The issue here is not whether people should be <em>able</em> or <em>allowed</em> to install nonfree software; a general-purpose system enables and allows users to do whatever they wish.  The issue is whether we guide users towards nonfree software.  What they do on their own is their responsibility; what we do for them, and what we direct them towards, is ours.  We must not direct the users towards proprietary software as if it were a solution, because proprietary software is the problem.
zh_TW: 問題並不在於人們是否<em>可以</em>或<em>允許</em>使用或安裝非自由軟體。我們的社會系統為使用者提供方便，讓他們做自己想做的事。問題在於我們是否在為消費者帶來指引，讓他們使用自由軟體。他們自身的選擇是他們的責任，我們為他們提供指引，則是我們的責任。我們萬萬不可把消費者引導向專有軟體，錯誤地以為那是個好選擇，事實上，專有軟體就是問題本身。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: A ruinous compromise is not just a bad influence on others.  It can distort your own values, too, through cognitive dissonance.  If you have certain values, but your actions imply other, conflicting values, you are likely to change your values or your actions so as to resolve the contradiction.  Thus, projects that argue only from practical advantages, or direct people toward some nonfree software, nearly always shy away from even <em>suggesting</em> that nonfree software is unethical.  For their participants, as well as for the public, they reinforce consumer values.  We must reject these compromises if we wish to keep our values straight.
zh_TW: 毀滅性的妥協不僅會對他人帶來負面的影響，它還會改變你自身的價值，因為你的大腦裡出現了價值選擇的衝突。你心裡相信的是這一套價值，而你的行動則反映出另一套價值，這時你通常會兩者擇其一，來化解這個衝突。我們可以看到，那些只強調軟體實用性的專案，或把人們引向專有軟體的專案，幾乎無一例外地隻字不提專有軟體在道德上的不正當性。對於使用者以及普羅大眾，他們只反覆強調消費者為中心的價值判斷。我們必須反對這樣的妥協，以保持我們的價值觀始終如一。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: If you want to move to free software without compromising the goal of freedom, look at <a href="http://www.fsf.org/resources">the FSF's resources area</a>.  It lists hardware and machine configurations that work with free software, <a href="/distros/distros.html"> totally free GNU/Linux distros</a> to install, and <a href="http://directory.fsf.org/"> thousands of free software packages</a> that work in a 100 percent free software environment.  If you want to help the community stay on the road to freedom, one important way is to publicly uphold citizen values.  When people are discussing what is good or bad, or what to do, cite the values of freedom and community and argue from them.
zh_TW: 假如你想使用自由軟體，同時也想追求自由的話，請參閱<a href="http://www.fsf.org/resources">自由軟體基金會的資源頁面</a>。那裡列出了各種與自由軟體相容的硬體與機器組態、可供安裝的<a href="/distros/distros.html">完全自由的 GNU/Linux 散佈版</a>與<a href="http://directory.fsf.org/">數千個自由軟體</a>，這些都能在 100% 的自由軟體環境下運作。假如你希望協助社群走向自由，最重要的是弘揚「公民價值」。當人們在討論何為善與惡，以及該做什麼的時候，請你向人們闡述自由與社群的理念，並由此展開深入的討論。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: A road that lets you go faster is not better if it leads to the wrong place.  Compromise is essential to achieve an ambitious goal, but beware of compromises that lead away from the goal.
zh_TW: 要是我們南轅北轍，走得再快也毫無意義。要實現遠大的目標，我們需要作出妥協。但要切記，千萬不可作出偏離目標的妥協。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: For a similar point in a different area of life, see <a href="http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2011/jul/19/nudge-is-not-enough-behaviour-change"> &ldquo;Nudge&rdquo; is not enough</a>.
zh_TW: 有關生活中其他領域的類似觀點，請參閱<a href="http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2011/jul/19/nudge-is-not-enough-behaviour-change">「輕輕一推」是不夠的</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_TW: 請來信到 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 詢問有關自由軟體基金會（FSF）和 GNU 的一般問題；或者<a href="/contact/">以其他方式</a>聯絡自由軟體基金會。至於損毀的連結及其他修正和建議，可以將之寄給 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and submitting translations of this article.
zh_TW: 我們努力盡所能提供貼切、品質良善的翻譯。然而，我們無法十全十美，還請將你的意見評述與一般建議寄給 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p>
    <p>請參照 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">翻譯讀我 README</a> 來瞭解協調和提交我們的網頁翻譯相關事宜。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
zh_TW: 本頁面採用<a rel="license" href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/deed.zh_TW">創用 CC 姓名標示-禁止改作 4.0 國際</a>條款給予授權。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_TW: <b>翻譯</b>：黃柏諺 <a href="mailto:s8321414 (at) gmail (dot) com">&lt;s8321414 (at) gmail (dot) com&gt;</a>, 2019.

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_TW: 更新時間︰
