freedom-or-power.html - en to zh_TW translation catalogue (22 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Freedom Or Power? - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_TW: 自由或權力？ - GNU 專案 - 自由軟體基金會

note: type: Attribute 'content' of: <meta>
en: GNU, FSF, Free Software Foundation, Linux, general, public, license, gpl, general public license, freedom, software, power, rights
zh_TW: GNU, FSF, 自由軟體基金會, Linux, 通用, 公眾, 授權條款, gpl, 通用公眾授權條款, 自由, 軟體, 權力, 權利

note: type: Attribute 'content' of: <meta>
en: In this essay, Freedom or Power?, Bradley M. Kuhn and Richard M. Stallman discuss the reasons that the free software movement doesn't advocate the so-called freedom to choose any license you want for software you write.
zh_TW: 在本文《自由或權力？》中，Bradley M. Kuhn 與 Richard M. Stallman 討論自由軟體運動不提倡所謂的為你編寫的軟體選擇任意授權條款的自由。

note: type: Content of: <h2>
en: Freedom or Power?
zh_TW: 自由或權力？

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: by <strong>Bradley M. Kuhn</strong> and <strong>Richard M. Stallman</strong>
zh_TW: 作者為 <strong>Bradley M. Kuhn</strong> 與 <strong>Richard M. Stallman</strong>

note: type: Content of: <blockquote><p>
en: The love of liberty is the love of others; the love of power is the love of ourselves.
zh_TW: 對自由的愛就是對他人的愛；對權力的愛就是對自己的愛。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: In the free software movement, we stand for freedom for the users of software.  We formulated our views by looking at what freedoms are necessary for a good way of life, and permit useful programs to foster a community of goodwill, cooperation, and collaboration.  <a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">Our criteria for free software</a> specify the freedoms that a program's users need so that they can cooperate in a community.
zh_TW: 在自由軟體運動中，我們代表軟體使用的自由。我們透過探尋何種自由才是生活的良好態度來形塑我們的觀點，並讓有用的程式培養一個和善、合作且有良好協作的社群。<a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">我們的自由軟體標準規定了程式使用者應該要有什麼樣的自由，讓他們可以在社群中相互合作。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: We stand for freedom for programmers as well as for other users.  Most of us are programmers, and we want freedom for ourselves as well as for you.  But each of us uses software written by others, and we want freedom when using that software, not just when using our own code.  We stand for freedom for all users, whether they program often, occasionally, or not at all.
zh_TW: 我們代表程式設計師與其他使用者的自由。我們大部份都是程式設計師，我們希望你能有與我們相同的自由。但我們每個人都會使用其他人編寫的軟體，我們在使用這些軟體時也需要自由，而不僅是在使用我們自己的程式碼時。我們代表所有使用者的自由，不論他們是經常、偶爾還是完全不寫程式。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: However, one so-called freedom that we do not advocate is the &ldquo;freedom to choose any license you want for software you write.&rdquo; We reject this because it is really a form of power, not a freedom.
zh_TW: 不過，我們不提倡的其中一種自由是「選擇你編寫軟體授權條款的自由」。我們拒絕這種「自由」，因為這是一種權力的表現型式，而不是自由。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: This oft overlooked distinction is crucial.  Freedom is being able to make decisions that affect mainly you; power is being able to make decisions that affect others more than you.  If we confuse power with freedom, we will fail to uphold real freedom.
zh_TW: 這種經常被忽略的差別是非常重要的。自由是可以做出主要影響你的決定；權力則是可以決定影響更多人。如果我們將權力與自由混為一談，我們將會無法維護真正的自由。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Making a program proprietary is an exercise of power.  Copyright law today grants software developers that power, so they and only they choose the rules to impose on everyone else&mdash;a relatively small number of people make the basic software decisions for all users, typically by denying their freedom.  When users lack the freedoms that define free software, they can't tell what the software is doing, can't check for back doors, can't monitor possible viruses and worms, can't find out what personal information is being reported (or stop the reports, even if they do find out).  If it breaks, they can't fix it; they have to wait for the developer to exercise its power to do so.  If it simply isn't quite what they need, they are stuck with it.  They can't help each other improve it.
zh_TW: 讓程式變為專有就是在行使權力。現今的版權法規授予軟體開發者權力，所以只有他們可以選擇規則來強加在其他人身上，相對少數的人為所有的使用者做基本的軟體決策，而且通常是否定他們的自由。當使用者缺乏定義自由軟體的自由時，他們就無法辨別軟體正在做什麼，無法檢查後門，無法監控可能的病毒與蠕蟲，無法找到被回報的個人資訊（或是停止回報，如果他們已經找到了的話）。如果它壞掉了，他們也無法修復它；他們必須等待開發者行使他的權力才能這樣做。如果它不是他們要的東西，他們也只能繼續這樣下去。他們無法互相協助改善它。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Proprietary software developers are often businesses.  We in the free software movement are not opposed to business, but we have seen what happens when a software business has the &ldquo;freedom&rdquo; to impose arbitrary rules on the users of software.  Microsoft is an egregious example of how denying users' freedoms can lead to direct harm, but it is not the only example.  Even when there is no monopoly, proprietary software harms society.  A choice of masters is not freedom.
zh_TW: 專有軟體開發者通常是商業公司。我們在自由軟體運動中通常不反對商業，但我們已經看到當軟體公司有對軟體使用者強加任意規定的「自由」時會發生什麼事。微軟就是其中一個拒絕使用者的自由會導致傷害的血淋淋的例子，但絕不是唯一的一個。即便沒有壟斷，專有軟體也會傷害社會。控制選擇並不是自由。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Discussions of rights and rules for software have often concentrated on the interests of programmers alone.  Few people in the world program regularly, and fewer still are owners of proprietary software businesses.  But the entire developed world now needs and uses software, so software developers now control the way it lives, does business, communicates, and is entertained.  The ethical and political issues are not addressed by the slogan of &ldquo;freedom of choice (for developers only).&rdquo;
zh_TW: 關於軟體權利與規則的討論往往僅關心程式設計師的利益。世界上很少有人定期開展新專案，而更少人是專有軟體公司的擁有者。但整個已開發世界現在都需要使用軟體，因此軟體開發者可以控制其生活方式、工作方式、溝通方式與娛樂方式。道德與政治問題並未因為「選擇的自由（僅限開發者）」的口號而解決。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: If &ldquo;code is law,&rdquo; <a href="#f1">(1)</a> then the real question we face is: who should control the code you use&mdash;you, or an elite few? We believe you are entitled to control the software you use, and giving you that control is the goal of free software.
zh_TW: 如果「程式碼即法律」<a href="#f1">(註)</a>，那我們面臨的真正問題就是：誰有權控制你所使用的程式碼，你還是少數菁英？我們相信你有權控制你所使用的軟體，而將控制權還給你正是自由軟體的目標。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: We believe you should decide what to do with the software you use; however, that is not what today's law says.  Current copyright law places us in the position of power over users of our code, whether we like it or not.  The ethical response to this situation is to proclaim freedom for each user, just as the Bill of Rights was supposed to exercise government power by guaranteeing each citizen's freedoms.  That is what the <a href="/copyleft/copyleft.html">GNU General Public License</a> is for: it puts you in control of your usage of the software while <a href="/philosophy/why-copyleft.html">protecting you from others</a> who would like to take control of your decisions.
zh_TW: 我們相信你應該決定要怎麼處理你所使用的軟體；不過，現今的法律卻不這麼認為。不論我們喜不喜歡，目前的版權法規都將我們對程式碼所持有的權力認為比使用者還要多。對這種情況的道德反應是表明每個使用者都擁有自由，就像權利法案應該透過保障每個公民的自由來行使政府的權力一樣。這就是 <a href="/copyleft/copyleft.html">GNU 公眾授權條款</a>的功用：它可以讓你控制你想要怎麼使用軟體，同時<a href="/philosophy/why-copyleft.html">保護你免受</a>其他想要控制你的決策的人的侵害。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: As more and more users realize that code is law, and come to feel that they too deserve freedom, they will see the importance of the freedoms we stand for, just as more and more users have come to appreciate the practical value of the free software we have developed.
zh_TW: 隨著愈來愈多使用者意識到程式碼即是法律，並且覺得他們也應該獲得自由，他們將看到我們所代表的自由的重要性，就像愈來愈多使用者開始欣賞我們所開發的自由軟體的實用價值一樣。

note: type: Content of: <h4>
en: Footnotes
zh_TW: 註腳

note: type: Content of: <blockquote><p>
en: This essay is published in <a href="http://shop.fsf.org/product/free-software-free-society/"><cite>Free Software, Free Society: The Selected Essays of Richard M. Stallman</cite></a>.
zh_TW: 本文發表於<a href="http://shop.fsf.org/product/free-software-free-society/"><cite>自由軟體，自由社會：理查史托曼文選</cite></a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_TW: 請來信到 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 詢問有關自由軟體基金會（FSF）和 GNU 的一般問題；或者<a href="/contact/">以其他方式</a>聯絡自由軟體基金會。至於損毀的連結及其他修正和建議，可以將之寄給 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and submitting translations of this article.
zh_TW: 我們努力盡所能提供貼切、品質良善的翻譯。然而，我們無法十全十美，還請將你的意見評述與一般建議寄給 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p>
    <p>請參照 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">翻譯讀我 README</a> 來瞭解協調和提交我們的網頁翻譯相關事宜。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Copyright &copy; 2001, 2009 Bradley M. Kuhn and Richard M. Stallman
zh_TW: Copyright &copy; 2001, 2009 Bradley M. Kuhn 與 Richard M. Stallman

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_TW: 更新時間︰
