surveillance-vs-democracy.html - en to zh_TW translation catalogue (76 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: How Much Surveillance Can Democracy Withstand? - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_TW: 民主能承受多少監控？ - GNU 專案 - 自由軟體基金會

note: type: Content of: <h2>
en: How Much Surveillance Can Democracy Withstand?
zh_TW: 民主能承受多少監控？

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: by <a href="http://www.stallman.org/">Richard Stallman</a>
zh_TW: 作者為 <a href="http://www.stallman.org/">Richard Stallman</a>

note: type: Content of: <blockquote><p>
en: A version of this article was first published in <cite>Wired</cite> in October&nbsp;2013.
zh_TW: 本文初版發佈於2013年10月的 <cite>Wired</cite>。

note: type: Content of: <blockquote><p>
en: Also consider reading &ldquo;<a href="https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/apr/03/facebook-abusing-data-law-privacy-big-tech-surveillance">A radical proposal to keep your personal data safe</a>,&rdquo; published in <cite>The Guardian</cite> in April&nbsp;2018.
zh_TW: 也請考慮閱讀「<a href="https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/apr/03/facebook-abusing-data-law-privacy-big-tech-surveillance">保護個人資料安全的基進提案</a>」，於2018年4月發佈於<cite>衛報</cite>。

note: type: Attribute 'alt' of: <div><div><div><a><img>
en: Cartoon of a dog, wondering at the three ads that popped up on his computer screen...
zh_TW: 一隻好奇為什麼他的電腦上會彈出三個廣告的狗的漫畫……

note: type: Content of: <div><div><div><p>
en: &ldquo;How did they find out I'm a dog?&rdquo;
zh_TW: 「他們怎麼知道我是狗的？」

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Thanks to Edward Snowden's disclosures, we know that the current level of general surveillance in society is incompatible with human rights.  The repeated harassment and prosecution of dissidents, sources, and journalists in the US and elsewhere provides confirmation.  We need to reduce the level of general surveillance, but how far? Where exactly is the <em>maximum tolerable level of surveillance</em>, which we must ensure is not exceeded? It is the level beyond which surveillance starts to interfere with the functioning of democracy, in that whistleblowers (such as Snowden) are likely to be caught.
zh_TW: 感謝愛德華·史諾登的揭露，我們知道了目前社會的一般監控已經違背了人權。在美國與世界各地不斷重覆發生的對持不同政見者、消息來源與新聞工作者的迫害也印證了這個事實。我們需要降低一般堅控的等級，但是要降低到哪個等級呢？哪個等級正好是<em>可以容忍的最高監控等級</am>，是我們要確保不能超過的等級呢？這個等級就是一旦被超越，監控就會開始干擾正常的民主制度，其徵兆為，吹哨者（如史諾登）可能會被捕。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Faced with government secrecy, we the people depend on whistleblowers to <a href="https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2013/11/reddit-tpp-ama">tell us what the state is doing</a>.  However, today's surveillance intimidates potential whistleblowers, which means it is too much.  To recover our democratic control over the state, we must reduce surveillance to the point where whistleblowers know they are safe.
zh_TW: 面對政府的祕密行動，我們這些普通民眾有賴吹哨者來<a href="https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2013/11/reddit-tpp-ama">告訴我們政府在做什麼</a>。然而，目前的監控威脅到了潛在的吹哨者，也就是說做得太過了。要重振民主對政府的控制，我們必須把監控的等級降低到可以讓吹哨者感到安全的等級。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Using free/libre software, <a href="/philosophy/free-software-even-more-important.html">as I've advocated for 30 years</a>, is the first step in taking control of our digital lives, and that includes preventing surveillance.  We can't trust nonfree software; the NSA <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20130622044225/http://blogs.computerworlduk.com/open-enterprise/2013/06/how-can-any-company-ever-trust-microsoft-again/index.htm">uses</a> and even <a href="http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/sep/05/nsa-gchq-encryption-codes-security">creates</a> security weaknesses in nonfree software to invade our own computers and routers.  Free software gives us control of our own computers, but <a href="http://www.wired.com/opinion/2013/10/149481/">that won't protect our privacy once we set foot on the Internet</a>.
zh_TW: 使用自由軟體，<a href="/philosophy/free-software-even-more-important.html">正如我已經提倡了三十年之久</a>，是我們掌控數位生活的第一步，其中就包含了防止監控。我們不能相信非自由軟體；美國國家安全局<a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20130622044225/http://blogs.computerworlduk.com/open-enterprise/2013/06/how-can-any-company-ever-trust-microsoft-again/index.htm">利用</a>甚至<a href="http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/sep/05/nsa-gchq-encryption-codes-security">製造</a>非自由軟體的的安全性問題來入侵我們的電腦與路由器。自由軟體讓我們能夠掌控自己的電腦，但是<a href="http://www.wired.com/opinion/2013/10/149481/">這並不能在我們上網時保護我們的隱私</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: <a href="http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/oct/10/nsa-surveillance-patriot-act-author-bill">Bipartisan legislation to &ldquo;curtail the domestic surveillance powers&rdquo;</a> in the U.S. is being drawn up, but it relies on limiting the government's use of our virtual dossiers.  That won't suffice to protect whistleblowers if &ldquo;catching the whistleblower&rdquo; is grounds for access sufficient to identify him or her.  We need to go further.
zh_TW: <a href="http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/oct/10/nsa-surveillance-patriot-act-author-bill">在美國，兩黨計畫立法來「限制國內監控權力」</a>，但其依賴於限制政府使用我們的虛擬檔案。如果「逮捕吹哨者」的前提是取得指認他／她的足夠資料，那這樣的立法並不足以保護吹哨者。我們需要更進一步。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: The Upper Limit on Surveillance in a Democracy
zh_TW: 民主社會中監控的上限

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: If whistleblowers don't dare reveal crimes and lies, we lose the last shred of effective control over our government and institutions.  That's why surveillance that enables the state to find out who has talked with a reporter is too much surveillance&mdash;too much for democracy to endure.
zh_TW: 如果吹哨者不敢揭露罪惡與謊言，我們就失去了對政府與制度最後的一點控制。這就是為什麼讓政府可以發現誰是吹哨者個監控是過度的監控──是民主無法承受的過度監控。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: An unnamed U.S. government official ominously told journalists in 2011 that the <a href="http://www.rcfp.org/browse-media-law-resources/news-media-law/news-media-and-law-summer-2011/lessons-wye-river">U.S. would not subpoena reporters because &ldquo;We know who you're talking to.&rdquo;</a> Sometimes <a href="http://www.theguardian.com/media/2013/sep/24/yemen-leak-sachtleben-guilty-associated-press">journalists' phone call records are subpoenaed</a> to find this out, but Snowden has shown us that in effect they subpoena all the phone call records of everyone in the U.S., all the time, <a href="https://www.theguardian.com/world/interactive/2013/jun/06/verizon-telephone-data-court-order">from Verizon</a> and <a href="http://www.marketwatch.com/story/nsa-data-mining-digs-into-networks-beyond-verizon-2013-06-07">from other companies too</a>.
zh_TW: 2011年，某個不願具名的美國政府官員幸災樂禍地告訴記者<a href="http://www.rcfp.org/browse-media-law-resources/news-media-law/news-media-and-law-summer-2011/lessons-wye-river">美國政府不會傳喚記者，因為「我們知道你和誰談過」</a>。有時候，<a href="http://www.theguardian.com/media/2013/sep/24/yemen-leak-sachtleben-guilty-associated-press">記者的通訊紀錄會被調出來</a>以查明通話對象，但史諾登向我們展示了其實美國所有人的通訊紀錄都會被調出來，隨時都行，不管是<a href="https://www.theguardian.com/world/interactive/2013/jun/06/verizon-telephone-data-court-order">從威訊</a>或是<a href="http://www.marketwatch.com/story/nsa-data-mining-digs-into-networks-beyond-verizon-2013-06-07">其他公司</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Opposition and dissident activities need to keep secrets from states that are willing to play dirty tricks on them.  The ACLU has demonstrated the U.S. government's <a href="http://www.aclu.org/files/assets/Spyfiles_2_0.pdf">systematic practice of infiltrating peaceful dissident groups</a> on the pretext that there might be terrorists among them.  The point at which surveillance is too much is the point at which the state can find who spoke to a known journalist or a known dissident.
zh_TW: 反對派與持不同政見者必須將政府的祕密攤在陽光下，以防止政府利用這些祕密幹壞事。美國公民自由聯盟展示了美國政府<a href="http://www.aclu.org/files/assets/Spyfiles_2_0.pdf">系統性入侵和平的持不同政見者組織的活動</a>其藉口就是這些組織中可能有恐怖分子。過度監控的等級就是政府能夠透過監控發現誰和記者或持不同政見者談過話的等級。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Information, Once Collected, Will Be Misused
zh_TW: 資訊，一旦被蒐集，就會被濫用

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: When people recognize that the level of general surveillance is too high, the first response is to propose limits on access to the accumulated data.  That sounds nice, but it won't fix the problem, not even slightly, even supposing that the government obeys the rules.  (The NSA has misled the FISA court, which said it was <a href="http://www.wired.com/threatlevel/2013/09/nsa-violations/">unable to effectively hold the NSA accountable</a>.) Suspicion of a crime will be grounds for access, so once a whistleblower is accused of &ldquo;espionage,&rdquo; finding the &ldquo;spy&rdquo; will provide an excuse to access the accumulated material.
zh_TW: 當人們意識到監控等級太高的時候，他們的第一反應是提議限制取得資料。這聽起來不錯，但並沒有辦法解決問題，連一點點都沒有，即使假設政府會遵守這些條款也一樣。（美國國家安全局曾經誤導了外國情報監視法案法庭，該法庭說它<a href="http://www.wired.com/threatlevel/2013/09/nsa-violations/">不能讓美國國家安全局有效地負責</a>。）因為懷疑有罪就能成為取得資料的理由，所以一旦吹哨者被指控「從事間諜活動」，那麼尋找「間諜」就會成為取得資料的藉口。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: In practice, we can't expect state agencies even to make up excuses to satisfy the rules for using surveillance data&mdash;because US agencies already <a href="https://theintercept.com/2018/01/09/dark-side-fbi-dea-illegal-searches-secret-evidence/"> lie to cover up breaking the rules</a>.  These rules are not seriously meant to be obeyed; rather, they are a fairy-tale we can believe if we like.
zh_TW: 實際上，我們不能期待公務員會遵守使用監控資料的制度，即使編造藉口也不行──因為美國的公務員已經<a href="https://theintercept.com/2018/01/09/dark-side-fbi-dea-illegal-searches-secret-evidence/">在用謊言掩蓋其違反制度的行為</a>。這些制度本來就不是用來認真遵守；相反地，它們就是信不信由你的童話故事。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: In addition, the state's surveillance staff will misuse the data for personal reasons.  Some NSA agents <a href="http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/aug/24/nsa-analysts-abused-surveillance-systems">used U.S. surveillance systems to track their lovers</a>&mdash;past, present, or wished-for&mdash;in a practice called &ldquo;LOVEINT.&rdquo; The NSA says it has caught and punished this a few times; we don't know how many other times it wasn't caught.  But these events shouldn't surprise us, because police have long <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20160401102120/http://www.sweetliberty.org/issues/privacy/lein1.htm#.V_mKlYbb69I">used their access to driver's license records to track down someone attractive</a>, a practice known as &ldquo;running a plate for a date.&rdquo; This practice has expanded with <a href="https://theyarewatching.org/issues/risks-increase-once-data-shared">new digital systems</a>.  In 2016, a prosecutor was accused of forging judges' signatures to get authorization to <a href="http://gizmodo.com/government-officials-cant-stop-spying-on-their-crushes-1789490933"> wiretap someone who was the object of a romantic obsession</a>. The AP knows of <a href="https://apnews.com/699236946e3140659fff8a2362e16f43">many other instances in the US</a>.
zh_TW: 另外，政府的監控人員還會因為私人因素濫用這些資料。某些美國國家安全局的人員<a href="http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/aug/24/nsa-analysts-abused-surveillance-systems">會使用政府的監控系統來追蹤其情人</a>的過去、現在與計畫，這在實踐中稱為 &ldquo;LOVEINT&rdquo;。美國國家安全局聲稱它曾抓到並懲罰幾起這類的事件；我們並不知道還有多少起沒有被抓到。但這並不意外，因為一直以來警察就<a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20160401102120/http://www.sweetliberty.org/issues/privacy/lein1.htm#.V_mKlYbb69I">使用存取駕照紀錄的權力來追蹤有吸引力的人</a>，這在實踐中叫做「查駕照約會」。這種行為還隨著<a href="https://theyarewatching.org/issues/risks-increase-once-data-shared">新的數位系統</a>擴張。2016年，某位檢察官被指控偽造法官簽名以取得<a href="http://gizmodo.com/government-officials-cant-stop-spying-on-their-crushes-1789490933">竊聽一個其迷戀的對象</a>。美聯社了解<a href="https://apnews.com/699236946e3140659fff8a2362e16f43">更多美國的其他案例</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Surveillance data will always be used for other purposes, even if this is prohibited.  Once the data has been accumulated and the state has the possibility of access to it, it can misuse that data in dreadful ways, as shown by examples from <a href="http://falkvinge.net/2012/03/17/collected-personal-data-will-always-be-used-against-the-citizens/">Europe</a>, <a href="https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Japanese_American_internment">the US</a>, and most recently <a href="http://www.cbc.ca/news/world/terrifying-how-a-single-line-of-computer-code-put-thousands-of-innocent-turks-in-jail-1.4495021">Turkey</a>.  (Turkey's confusion about who had really used the Bylock program only exacerbated the basic deliberate injustice of arbitrarily punishing people for having used it.)
zh_TW: 即便禁止了，監控資料還是會用於其他目的。一旦資料被蒐集，而且政府可以存取，那政府就有很多惡劣的方法可以使用這些資料，如<a href="http://falkvinge.net/2012/03/17/collected-personal-data-will-always-be-used-against-the-citizens/">歐洲</a>、<a href="https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Japanese_American_internment">美國</a>，以及近期<a href="http://www.cbc.ca/news/world/terrifying-how-a-single-line-of-computer-code-put-thousands-of-innocent-turks-in-jail-1.4495021">土耳其</a>的例子。（土耳其對於誰真的在使用 Bylock 程式的困擾只是惡化了對使用該程式的人的任意懲罰這種簡單的故意不正義。）

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Personal data collected by the state is also likely to be obtained by outside crackers that break the security of the servers, even by <a href="https://www.techdirt.com/articles/20150612/16334231330/second-opm-hack-revealed-even-worse-than-first.shtml">crackers working for hostile states</a>.
zh_TW: 被政府蒐集的個人資料也有可能被黑帽駭客入侵安全伺服器取得，甚至被<a href="https://www.techdirt.com/articles/20150612/16334231330/second-opm-hack-revealed-even-worse-than-first.shtml">被為敵對國家工作的駭客取得</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Governments can easily use massive surveillance capability to <a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2015/06/22/world/europe/macedonia-government-is-blamed-for-wiretapping-scandal.html">subvert democracy directly</a>.
zh_TW: 政府可以使用其強大的監控能力<a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2015/06/22/world/europe/macedonia-government-is-blamed-for-wiretapping-scandal.html">直接毀滅民主</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Total surveillance accessible to the state enables the state to launch a massive fishing expedition against any person.  To make journalism and democracy safe, we must limit the accumulation of data that is easily accessible to the state.
zh_TW: 對監控的全面掌控使得政府可以對任何人展開大規模的釣魚調查。要讓言論與民主安全，我們必須限制政府對監控資料的存取權。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Robust Protection for Privacy Must Be Technical
zh_TW: 對隱私的有力保護必須是技術性的

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: The Electronic Frontier Foundation and other organizations propose a set of legal principles designed to <a href="https://en.necessaryandproportionate.org/text">prevent the abuses of massive surveillance</a>.  These principles include, crucially, explicit legal protection for whistleblowers; as a consequence, they would be adequate for protecting democratic freedoms&mdash;if adopted completely and enforced without exception forever.
zh_TW: 電子前哨基金會與其他組織提議了一套法律原則來避免<a href="https://en.necessaryandproportionate.org/text">大規模監控的濫用</a>。這些原則包含了，對吹哨者嚴格且明確的法律保護；因此，它們足以保護民主自由──如果完全採納並永無例外地執行。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: However, such legal protections are precarious: as recent history shows, they can be repealed (as in the FISA Amendments Act), suspended, or <a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2009/04/16/us/16nsa.html">ignored</a>.
zh_TW: 不過，這種法律保護是不穩定的：正如當代歷史所展示的法律會被廢除（如外國情報監視法案修正案）、終止或<a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2009/04/16/us/16nsa.html">忽略</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Meanwhile, demagogues will cite the usual excuses as grounds for total surveillance; any terrorist attack, even one that kills just a handful of people, can be hyped to provide an opportunity.
zh_TW: 同時，惡意政客會引用蒐集證據的條款來作為全面監控的法律支持；恐怖攻擊，即使只殺死了極少數人，也能作為他們發揮的理由。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: If limits on access to the data are set aside, it will be as if they had never existed: years worth of dossiers would suddenly become available for misuse by the state and its agents and, if collected by companies, for their private misuse as well.  If, however, we stop the collection of dossiers on everyone, those dossiers won't exist, and there will be no way to compile them retroactively.  A new illiberal regime would have to implement surveillance afresh, and it would only collect data starting at that date.  As for suspending or momentarily ignoring this law, the idea would hardly make sense.
zh_TW: 如果取得資料的限制被晾在一旁，那麼情況就會變成和限制不存在一樣：歷年的檔案突然就變得可能會被政府及其代理人濫用，如果由公司蒐集，公司也會私自濫用。但是，如果終止蒐集這些檔案，那就沒有檔案，自然也就不可能回溯研究。一個新的非自由政權只能重新建造監控系統，並就只能蒐集那之後的資料。如果可以終止或暫時忽略該法律，那麼這個想法就幾乎毫無意義。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: First, Don't Be Foolish
zh_TW: 首先，不要被愚弄

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: To have privacy, you must not throw it away: the first one who has to protect your privacy is you.  Avoid identifying yourself to web sites, contact them with Tor, and use browsers that block the schemes they use to track visitors.  Use the GNU Privacy Guard to encrypt the contents of your email.  Pay for things with cash.
zh_TW: 要擁有隱私，你就不能拋棄它：你是第一個要保護自己隱私的人。避免在網站暴露身份、使用 Tor 上網、使用帶有防止追蹤功能的瀏覽器。使用 GNU Privacy Guard 來加密電子郵件內容。用現金付款。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Keep your own data; don't store your data in a company's &ldquo;convenient&rdquo; server.  It's safe, however, to entrust a data backup to a commercial service, provided you put the files in an archive and encrypt the whole archive, including the names of the files, with free software on your own computer before uploading it.
zh_TW: 保護好你的資料；不要將你的資料儲存在其他公司「方便的」伺服器上。不過如果你在上傳到商用資料備份伺服器前先使用自由軟體在自己的電腦上把檔案壓縮並加密，包含檔案名稱也加密的話，那它就是安全的。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: For privacy's sake, you must avoid nonfree software; if you give control of your computer's operations to companies, they are <a href="/malware/proprietary-surveillance.html">likely to make it spy on you</a>.  Avoid <a href="/philosophy/who-does-that-server-really-serve.html">service as a software substitute</a>; in addition to giving others control of how your computing is done, it requires you to hand over all the pertinent data to the company's server.
zh_TW: 為了隱私，你要避免使用非自由軟體；如果你把電腦的控制權交給他人，他們<a href="/malware/proprietary-surveillance.html">可能會藉此窺探你</a>。避免使用<a href="/philosophy/who-does-that-server-really-serve.html">軟體替代服務</a>；這也是把計算的控制權交到別人手上，因為這要求你把全部相關的資料都交給伺服器處理。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Protect your friends' and acquaintances' privacy, too.  <a href="http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2014/05/21/in-cybersecurity-sometimes-the-weakest-link-is-a-family-member/">Don't give out their personal information</a> except how to contact them, and never give any web site your list of email or phone contacts.  Don't tell a company such as Facebook anything about your friends that they might not wish to publish in a newspaper.  Better yet, don't be used by Facebook at all.  Reject communication systems that require users to give their real names, even if you are happy to divulge yours, since they pressure other people to surrender their privacy.
zh_TW: 請你也保護朋友與熟人的隱私。除了如何聯絡他們以外，<a href="http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2014/05/21/in-cybersecurity-sometimes-the-weakest-link-is-a-family-member/">不要曝露他們的個人資料</a>，也不要把你的電子郵件或電話聯絡人清單交給任何網站。不要告訴諸如 Facebook 這類的網站你與你的朋友不想在報紙上公開的事情。最好就是根本不要用 Facebook。請拒絕要求使用實名的系統，即使你樂意實名，也不要因此為其他人的隱私帶來壓力。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Self-protection is essential, but even the most rigorous self-protection is insufficient to protect your privacy on or from systems that don't belong to you.  When we communicate with others or move around the city, our privacy depends on the practices of society.  We can avoid some of the systems that surveil our communications and movements, but not all of them.  Clearly, the better solution is to make all these systems stop surveilling people other than legitimate suspects.
zh_TW: 自我保護很重要，但即使是最嚴謹的自我保護也無法在其他人的裝置上保護你的隱私。當我們與其他人交流或是在城市中流連時，我們的隱私依賴於社會的實踐。我們可以避免一些監控我們交流與活動的系統，但沒辦法避免所有的監控系統。很明顯地，最好的方法就是停止所有的監控，除了針對法律所允許的嫌疑犯。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: We Must Design Every System for Privacy
zh_TW: 我們設計每個系統時都必須考慮隱私

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: If we don't want a total surveillance society, we must consider surveillance a kind of social pollution, and limit the surveillance impact of each new digital system just as we limit the environmental impact of physical construction.
zh_TW: 如果我們不要完全監控的社會，我們必須將監控視為一種社會污染，我們要如同限制建築工程對環境造成的污染一般限制監控對每個新數位系統的影響。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: For example: &ldquo;smart&rdquo; meters for electricity are touted for sending the power company moment-by-moment data about each customer's electric usage, including how usage compares with users in general.  This is implemented based on general surveillance, but does not require any surveillance.  It would be easy for the power company to calculate the average usage in a residential neighborhood by dividing the total usage by the number of subscribers, and send that to the meters.  Each customer's meter could compare her usage, over any desired period of time, with the average usage pattern for that period.  The same benefit, with no surveillance!
zh_TW: 舉例來說：「智慧型」電表被設計為按時向電力公司傳送每個使用者的用電資料，包括其用電量與平均水準的比較。這種設計是一種普遍性的監控，而我們不應該對此進行監控。電力公司很容易根據地區的總用電量除以登記使用者數來算出平均用電量，並將這份資料傳送到電表處。每個電表的使用者都可以使用取得的資料，自己比較某個時段的用電量狀況。同樣的結果，但是不需要監控！

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: We need to design such privacy into all our digital systems.
zh_TW: 我們必須為我們的所有數位系統設計這類的隱私保護。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Remedy for Collecting Data: Leaving It Dispersed
zh_TW: 針對蒐集資料的補救措施：分散資料

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: One way to make monitoring safe for privacy is to <a name="dispersal">keep the data dispersed and inconvenient to access</a>.  Old-fashioned security cameras were no threat to privacy(<a href="#privatespace">*</a>).  The recording was stored on the premises, and kept for a few weeks at most.  Because of the inconvenience of accessing these recordings, it was never done massively; they were accessed only in the places where someone reported a crime.  It would not be feasible to physically collect millions of tapes every day and watch them or copy them.
zh_TW: 讓隱私在監控下安全的其中一個方法是<a name="dispersal">讓資料分散且不方便存取</a>。老式的安全攝影機對隱私不構成威脅 (<a href="#privatespace">*</a>)。其紀錄都儲存在本機，最多保留數週。因為取得這些紀錄並不方便，所以從來沒有大規模地蒐集這類資料；僅當有人回報犯罪活動時，才會從本機調閱資料。每天蒐集上百萬卷的磁帶並查看或複製實際上是不可能的任務。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Nowadays, security cameras have become surveillance cameras: they are connected to the Internet so recordings can be collected in a data center and saved forever.  In Detroit, the cops pressure businesses to give them <a href="https://eu.detroitnews.com/story/news/local/detroit-city/2018/01/23/detroit-green-light/109524794/">unlimited access to their surveillance cameras</a> so that they can look through them at any and all times.  This is already dangerous, but it is going to get worse.  Advances in face recognition may bring the day when suspected journalists can be tracked on the street all the time to see who they talk with.
zh_TW: 而今，安全攝影機變成了監控攝影機：它們會連線到網際網路，所以紀錄會由資料中心蒐集並永久儲存。在底特律，警察向企業施壓，要企業給他們<a href="https://eu.detroitnews.com/story/news/local/detroit-city/2018/01/23/detroit-green-light/109524794/">無限制的監控攝影機存取權限</a>，這樣警察就可以隨時查看。這本身已經很危險，但情況正變得更糟。人臉辨識的技術總有一天會全程追蹤被懷疑的記者，進而察看他們在和誰說話。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Internet-connected cameras often have lousy digital security themselves, which means <a href="https://www.csoonline.com/article/2221934/cia-wants-to-spy-on-you-through-your-appliances.html">anyone can watch what those cameras see</a>.  This makes internet-connected cameras a major threat to security as well as privacy.  For privacy's sake, we should ban the use of Internet-connected cameras aimed where and when the public is admitted, except when carried by people.  Everyone must be free to post photos and video recordings occasionally, but the systematic accumulation of such data on the Internet must be limited.
zh_TW: 網路攝影機本身的安全性通常很糟糕，<a href="https://www.csoonline.com/article/2221934/cia-wants-to-spy-on-you-through-your-appliances.html">任何人都可以查看這些攝影機在觀察什麼</a>。這讓網路攝影機成了安全與隱私的主要威脅。為了保護隱私，我們應該禁止針對大眾行蹤的網路攝影機，除了那些人們隨身攜帶的攝影裝置。人們必須有自由發佈一些照片與影片，但是在網路系統上蒐集這些資料的行為必須受到限制。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: <a name="privatespace"><b>*</b></a>I assume here that the security camera points at the inside of a store, or at the street.  Any camera pointed at someone's private space by someone else violates privacy, but that is another issue.
zh_TW: <a name="privatespace"><b>*</b></a> 在這裡，我假設安全攝影機對著商店內部或街道。對著他人私有空間的攝影機侵犯了隱私權，但那又是另一個問題了。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Remedy for Internet Commerce Surveillance
zh_TW: 針對商業網路監控的補救措施

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Most data collection comes from people's own digital activities.  Usually the data is collected first by companies.  But when it comes to the threat to privacy and democracy, it makes no difference whether surveillance is done directly by the state or farmed out to a business, because the data that the companies collect is systematically available to the state.
zh_TW: 大多數資料來自人們自己的數位活動。通常這些資料先被公司蒐集。但當資料威脅的是隱私與民主時，監控來自政府還是來自商業公司並無分別，因為政府是可以有系統地取得由公司蒐集的資料的。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: The NSA, through PRISM, has <a href="https://www.commondreams.org/headline/2013/08/23-2">gotten into the databases of many large Internet corporations</a>.  AT&amp;T has saved all its phone call records since 1987 and <a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2013/09/02/us/drug-agents-use-vast-phone-trove-eclipsing-nsas.html?_r=0">makes them available to the DEA</a> to search on request.  Strictly speaking, the U.S.  government does not possess that data, but in practical terms it may as well possess it.  Some companies are praised for <a href="https://www.eff.org/who-has-your-back-government-data-requests-2015">resisting government data requests to the limited extent they can</a>, but that can only partly compensate for the harm they do to by collecting that data in the first place.  In addition, many of those companies misuse the data directly or provide it to data brokers.
zh_TW: 美國國家安全局可以透過稜鏡計畫<a href="https://www.commondreams.org/headline/2013/08/23-2">進訴許多大型網際網路公司的資料庫</a>。AT&amp;T 儲存了1987年以來的通話紀錄並讓<a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2013/09/02/us/drug-agents-use-vast-phone-trove-eclipsing-nsas.html?_r=0">DEA 有權按其需求查詢</a>。嚴格來說，美國政府並未擁有這些資料，但實質上已經可以算是擁有了。某些公司因為其<a href="https://www.eff.org/who-has-your-back-government-data-requests-2015">盡量阻擋政府調閱資料的請求</a>而受到贊揚，但這只是部份補償其先蒐集資料所帶來的傷害。另外，很多這類公司也直接濫用這些資料或賣給資料掮客。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: The goal of making journalism and democracy safe therefore requires that we reduce the data collected about people by any organization, not just by the state.  We must redesign digital systems so that they do not accumulate data about their users.  If they need digital data about our transactions, they should not be allowed to keep them more than a short time beyond what is inherently necessary for their dealings with us.
zh_TW: 要達成保護言論自由與民主的目的就需要我們減少不只是政府對人們的資料蒐集，還要減少組織與公司的資料蒐集。我們必須重新設計數位系統以確保它們不會蒐集使用者的資料。如果系統確實需要我們的業務處理資料，它們也不能保留超過其業務本身所需的短時間。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: One of the motives for the current level of surveillance of the Internet is that sites are financed through advertising based on tracking users' activities and propensities.  This converts a mere annoyance&mdash;advertising that we can learn to ignore&mdash;into a surveillance system that harms us whether we know it or not.  Purchases over the Internet also track their users.  And we are all aware that &ldquo;privacy policies&rdquo; are more excuses to violate privacy than commitments to uphold it.
zh_TW: 網路監控到達目前等級的其中一個動機是很多網站根據使用者的活動與傾向投放廣告，並因此獲得經濟回報。這使得原本只是令人討厭的（可以忽略的）廣告變成了無論我們是否知曉都會造成傷害的監控系統。網路購物也會追蹤使用者。我們都很清楚「隱私權政策」只是違反隱私的藉口而非保護隱私的承諾。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: We could correct both problems by adopting a system of anonymous payments&mdash;anonymous for the payer, that is.  (We don't want to help the payee dodge taxes.)  <a href="http://www.wired.com/opinion/2013/05/lets-cut-through-the-bitcoin-hype/">Bitcoin is not anonymous</a>, though there are efforts to develop ways to pay anonymously with Bitcoin.  However, technology for <a href="http://www.wired.com/wired/archive/2.12/emoney_pr.html">digital cash was first developed in the 1980s</a>; the GNU software for doing this is called <a href="http://taler.net/">GNU Taler</a>.  Now we need only suitable business arrangements, and for the state not to obstruct them.
zh_TW: 我們可以使用匿名付款的系統同時修正以上兩個問題──也就是付款者匿名。（我們並不想幫助收款者逃稅。）<a href="http://www.wired.com/opinion/2013/05/lets-cut-through-the-bitcoin-hype/">比特幣並不匿名</a>，雖然有人開發了用比特幣匿名付款的方法。不過，技術上，<a href="http://www.wired.com/wired/archive/2.12/emoney_pr.html">數位現金最早於1980年代被開發出來</a>；最早實現這個功能的 GNU 軟體叫做 <a href="http://taler.net/">GNU Taler</a>。現在我們只需要合適的商業規劃，以及政府不要阻撓這些規劃。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Another possible method for anonymous payments would use <a href="https://stallman.org/articles/anonymous-payments-thru-phones.html">prepaid phone cards</a>.  It is less convenient, but very easy to implement.
zh_TW: 匿名付款的另一種可能方式是使用<a href="https://stallman.org/articles/anonymous-payments-thru-phones.html">預付電話卡</a>。它可能不太方便，但很容易實現。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: A further threat from sites' collection of personal data is that security breakers might get in, take it, and misuse it.  This includes customers' credit card details.  An anonymous payment system would end this danger: a security hole in the site can't hurt you if the site knows nothing about you.
zh_TW: 網站蒐集個人資料的另一個威脅是，駭客可能會利用安全性漏洞侵入，取得資料並濫用之。這包含了客戶信用卡的詳細資訊。匿名付款系統可以終結這個危險：網站的安全性漏洞不會傷害到你，因為網站不知道你是誰。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Remedy for Travel Surveillance
zh_TW: 針對旅行監控的補救措施

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: We must convert digital toll collection to anonymous payment (using digital cash, for instance).  License-plate recognition systems <a href="https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2018/11/eff-and-muckrock-release-records-and-data-200-law-enforcement-agencies-automated"> recognize all cars' license plates</a>, and the <a href="http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/programmes/whos_watching_you/8064333.stm">data can be kept indefinitely</a>; they should be required by law to notice and record only those license numbers that are on a list of cars sought by court orders.  A less secure alternative would record all cars locally but only for a few days, and not make the full data available over the Internet; access to the data should be limited to searching for a list of court-ordered license-numbers.
zh_TW: 我們必須將電子過路費收取系統改造成匿名付費系統（舉例來說，可以使用數位現金）。車牌識別系統<a href="https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2018/11/eff-and-muckrock-release-records-and-data-200-law-enforcement-agencies-automated">會識別所有的牌照</a>，而且<a href="http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/programmes/whos_watching_you/8064333.stm">其資料無限期保留</a>；法律應該要求這些系統注意並只記錄已經有法庭命令需要追蹤的車牌號碼。另一個不太安全的替代方案是記錄所有車牌，但只在本機儲存幾天，並且不讓所有資料都可以透過網路存取；只允許搜尋那些已有法庭命令需要追蹤的車牌號碼。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: The U.S. &ldquo;no-fly&rdquo; list must be abolished because it is <a href="https://www.aclu.org/blog/national-security-technology-and-liberty-racial-justice/victory-federal-court-recognizes">punishment without trial</a>.
zh_TW: 美國的「禁止飛行」名單也應該取消，因為它是<a href="https://www.aclu.org/blog/national-security-technology-and-liberty-racial-justice/victory-federal-court-recognizes">未經審理的懲罰</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: It is acceptable to have a list of people whose person and luggage will be searched with extra care, and anonymous passengers on domestic flights could be treated as if they were on this list.  It is also acceptable to bar non-citizens, if they are not permitted to enter the country at all, from boarding flights to the country.  This ought to be enough for all legitimate purposes.
zh_TW: 將一些人列入需要特別安檢的名單是可以接受的，國內航班的匿名乘客也可以同等對待。從入境航班攔截那些本來就不允許入境的人員也是可以接受的。這些措施應該可以滿足所有的法律目的了。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Many mass transit systems use some kind of smart cards or RFIDs for payment.  These systems accumulate personal data: if you once make the mistake of paying with anything but cash, they associate the card permanently with your name.  Furthermore, they record all travel associated with each card.  Together they amount to massive surveillance.  This data collection must be reduced.
zh_TW: 許多大眾運輸系統使用某種智慧卡或 RFID 來付款。這些系統會蒐集個人資料：如果你有一次沒有使用現金支付，它們就會永久把你的名字和你所使用的卡綁定。這樣它們就等於在進行大規模的監控。這類的資料蒐集必須減少。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Navigation services do surveillance: the user's computer tells the map service the user's location and where the user wants to go; then the server determines the route and sends it back to the user's computer, which displays it.  Nowadays, the server probably records the user's locations, since there is nothing to prevent it.  This surveillance is not inherently necessary, and redesign could avoid it: free/libre software in the user's computer could download map data for the pertinent regions (if not downloaded previously), compute the route, and display it, without ever telling anyone where the user is or wants to go.
zh_TW: 導航服務也會監控：使用者的電腦裝置會告訴地圖服務提供商使用者的位置以及使用者要去哪裡；然後伺服器計算路線並將其傳送回使用者的裝置，裝置再顯示路線給使用者。現今，伺服器可能會紀錄使用者的位置，因為沒有什麼可以阻止他們這麼做。這種監控本身並無必要，重新設計可以避免這類狀況發生：使用者裝置上的自由軟體可以下載相關的地圖區域（如果還沒有下載過的話），計算路徑並顯示，這樣就沒有必要告訴任何人使用者要去哪裡。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Systems for borrowing bicycles, etc., can be designed so that the borrower's identity is known only inside the station where the item was borrowed.  Borrowing would inform all stations that the item is &ldquo;out,&rdquo; so when the user returns it at any station (in general, a different one), that station will know where and when that item was borrowed.  It will inform the other station that the item is no longer &ldquo;out.&rdquo; It will also calculate the user's bill, and send it (after waiting some random number of minutes) to headquarters along a ring of stations, so that headquarters would not find out which station the bill came from.  Once this is done, the return station would forget all about the transaction.  If an item remains &ldquo;out&rdquo; for too long, the station where it was borrowed can inform headquarters; in that case, it could send the borrower's identity immediately.
zh_TW: 諸如租借自行車之類的系統，可以設計為租借者的身份只被當事站點所知。這個站點可以讓其他所有站點某物品已被「借出」，這樣租借者就可以在任何一個站點歸還物品（一般來說應該會是另一個站點），而此站點知道該物品是何時在何地被借出。它會通知其他站點該物品不再是「借出」。歸還的這個站點會計算使用者的帳單，並將其（在等待隨機的時間長度後）經由多個站點傳送回總部，這樣總部就不會知道帳單來自哪裡。完成發送後，歸還站就會忘記該交易。如果物品長時間保持「借出」，借出站就可以通知總部，此時，它可以立刻把租借者的身份傳送過去。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Remedy for Communications Dossiers
zh_TW: 針對通訊檔案的補救措施

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Internet service providers and telephone companies keep extensive data on their users' contacts (browsing, phone calls, etc).  With mobile phones, they also <a href="http://www.zeit.de/digital/datenschutz/2011-03/data-protection-malte-spitz">record the user's physical location</a>.  They keep these dossiers for a long time: over 30 years, in the case of AT&amp;T.  Soon they will even <a href="http://www.wired.com/opinion/2013/10/the-trojan-horse-of-the-latest-iphone-with-the-m7-coprocessor-we-all-become-qs-activity-trackers/">record the user's body activities</a>.  It appears that the <a href="https://www.aclu.org/blog/national-security-technology-and-liberty/it-sure-sounds-nsa-tracking-your-location">NSA collects cell phone location data</a> in bulk.
zh_TW: ISP 與電話公司會保留其使用者的大量資料（瀏覽紀錄、通聯紀錄等等）。對於手機使用者來說，他們還會<a href="http://www.zeit.de/digital/datenschutz/2011-03/data-protection-malte-spitz">記錄使用者的實際位置</a>。這些檔案會保留很長的時間：對於 AT&amp;T 來說，超過30年。在不久的將來，他們甚至會<a href="http://www.wired.com/opinion/2013/10/the-trojan-horse-of-the-latest-iphone-with-the-m7-coprocessor-we-all-become-qs-activity-trackers/">記錄使用者的身體動作</a>。而<a href="https://www.aclu.org/blog/national-security-technology-and-liberty/it-sure-sounds-nsa-tracking-your-location">美國國家安全局看起來也會大量蒐集行動電話的位置紀錄</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Unmonitored communication is impossible where systems create such dossiers.  So it should be illegal to create or keep them.  ISPs and phone companies must not be allowed to keep this information for very long, in the absence of a court order to surveil a certain party.
zh_TW: 在製造這類檔案的系統中，通訊不被監控是不可能的。所以製造與保留這些檔案應該要是違法的。不應允許 ISP 與電話公司長期保留這些資訊，除非是針對某些有法庭命令的對象。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: This solution is not entirely satisfactory, because it won't physically stop the government from collecting all the information immediately as it is generated&mdash;which is what the <a href="http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2013/jun/06/nsa-phone-records-verizon-court-order">U.S. does with some or all phone companies</a>.  We would have to rely on prohibiting that by law.  However, that would be better than the current situation, where the relevant law (the PAT RIOT Act) does not clearly prohibit the practice.  In addition, if the government did resume this sort of surveillance, it would not get data about everyone's phone calls made prior to that time.
zh_TW: 這種解決方辦並無法完全令人滿意，因為它仍然沒辦法阻止政府在資料產生後立刻取得，這正是<a href="http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2013/jun/06/nsa-phone-records-verizon-court-order">美國政府對某些或全部電話公司的所作所為</a>。我們還是不得不依賴法律來禁止這種行為。但是，這還是比目前的情況好，相關法律並不明文禁止這類行為。另外，如果政府要恢復監控，它也無法取得在恢復之前的通話紀錄。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: For privacy about who you exchange email with, a simple partial solution is for you and others to use email services in a country that would never cooperate with your own government, and which communicate with each other using encryption.  However, Ladar Levison (owner of the mail service Lavabit that US surveillance sought to corrupt completely) has a more sophisticated idea for an encryption system through which your email service would know only that you sent mail to some user of my email service, and my email service would know only that I received mail from some user of your email service, but it would be hard to determine that you had sent mail to me.
zh_TW: 為了保護你的電子郵件通訊的隱私，其中一個簡單的部份解決方法就是使用不會和當地政府合作的電子郵件服務提供者，並互相使用加密通訊。但是，Ladar Levison（Lavabit 郵件服務的擁有者，美國監控機構企圖徹底破壞該郵件系統）對郵件加密系統有一個更複雜的想法：你的郵件服務者只會知道你向我的郵件服務者的某個使用者傳送了電子郵件，同時我的郵件服務者只知道我收到了來自你的郵件服務者的某個使用者的郵件，但是它很難確定是你傳送電子郵件給我。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: But Some Surveillance Is Necessary
zh_TW: 但某些監控仍是必要之惡

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: For the state to find criminals, it needs to be able to investigate specific crimes, or specific suspected planned crimes, under a court order.  With the Internet, the power to tap phone conversations would naturally extend to the power to tap Internet connections.  This power is easy to abuse for political reasons, but it is also necessary.  Fortunately, this won't make it possible to find whistleblowers after the fact, if (as I recommend) we prevent digital systems from accumulating massive dossiers before the fact.
zh_TW: 政府要抓到罪犯，它必須要可以在法庭命令下調查特定的案件或特定的可疑預謀。有了網際網路，監聽電話的權力會自然延伸到監聽網際網路。雖然政府很容易濫用這個權力，但其也是必要之惡。幸好，如果（按我的建議）事先已經禁止了檔案蒐集，在事後尋找吹哨者就不太可能。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Individuals with special state-granted power, such as police, forfeit their right to privacy and must be monitored.  (In fact, police have their own jargon term for perjury, &ldquo;<a href="https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Police_perjury&amp;oldid=552608302">testilying</a>,&rdquo; since they do it so frequently, particularly about protesters and <a href="https://www.themaven.net/pinacnews/">photographers</a>.)  One city in California that required police to wear video cameras all the time found <a href="http://www.motherjones.com/kevin-drum/2013/08/ubiquitous-surveillance-police-edition">their use of force fell by 60%</a>.  The ACLU is in favor of this.
zh_TW: 具有政府特權的個人（如警察），將失去隱私權並被監控。（事實上，警察自己就有關於作偽證的專用術語，&ldquo;<a href="https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Police_perjury&amp;oldid=552608302">testilying</a>&rdquo;，因為這種事經常發生，特別是關於陳抗者或<a href="https://www.themaven.net/pinacnews/">攝影師</a>時。）加州的某個城市要求警察全程穿戴錄影機，<a href="http://www.motherjones.com/kevin-drum/2013/08/ubiquitous-surveillance-police-edition">結果警察的武器使用率降低了 60%</a>。美國公民自由聯盟非常支持這種做法。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: <a href="http://action.citizen.org/p/dia/action3/common/public/?action_KEY=12266">Corporations are not people, and not entitled to human rights</a>.  It is legitimate to require businesses to publish the details of processes that might cause chemical, biological, nuclear, fiscal, computational (e.g., <a href="http://DefectiveByDesign.org">DRM</a>) or political (e.g., lobbying) hazards to society, to whatever level is needed for public well-being.  The danger of these operations (consider the BP oil spill, the Fukushima meltdowns, and the 2008 fiscal crisis) dwarfs that of terrorism.
zh_TW: <a href="http://action.citizen.org/p/dia/action3/common/public/?action_KEY=12266">企業不是人，它們沒有人權</a>。要求商業公司公開其可能對社會導致化學、生物、核、金融、電腦（例如 <a href="http://DefectiveByDesign.org">DRM</a>）或政治（如游說）等風險的活動是合法的，如果這些活動對公眾利益的影響達到一定水準的話。這些活動的危險（想想 BP 原油洩漏、福島核電廠反應爐核心熔毀與2008年金融危機）超過了恐怖攻擊。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: However, journalism must be protected from surveillance even when it is carried out as part of a business.
zh_TW: 但是，即便是以商業公司的一部份營運的新聞業也不應該受到監視。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Digital technology has brought about a tremendous increase in the level of surveillance of our movements, actions, and communications.  It is far more than we experienced in the 1990s, and <a href="https://hbr.org/2013/06/your-iphone-works-for-the-secret-police">far more than people behind the Iron Curtain experienced</a> in the 1980s, and proposed legal limits on state use of the accumulated data would not alter that.
zh_TW: 數位技術大大提升了對我們的活動、行為與通訊的監控等級。它遠遠超過了1990年代我們所經歷的監控等級，也<a href="https://hbr.org/2013/06/your-iphone-works-for-the-secret-police">遠超1980年代在鐵幕後的人們所經歷的</a>，政府提議的對所蒐集資料的使用限制也無法改變這一點。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Companies are designing even more intrusive surveillance.  Some project that pervasive surveillance, hooked to companies such as Facebook, could have deep effects on <a href="https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2015/aug/10/internet-of-things-predictable-people">how people think</a>.  Such possibilities are imponderable; but the threat to democracy is not speculation.  It exists and is visible today.
zh_TW: 公司正在設計更具侵入性的監控。某些專案充斥著監控，以諸如 Facebook 等公司的形式存在，可能會對<a href="https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2015/aug/10/internet-of-things-predictable-people">人們如何思考</a>有深遠的影響。這種可能性是很難估量的，但它對民主的威脅卻絕非空想。它已經存在，而且現在就看得到。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Unless we believe that our free countries previously suffered from a grave surveillance deficit, and ought to be surveilled more than the Soviet Union and East Germany were, we must reverse this increase.  That requires stopping the accumulation of big data about people.
zh_TW: 除非我們確信我們的自由國家過去嚴重缺乏監控，因而應該進行超過蘇聯與東德所進行的監控，我們必須逆轉監控的增長。這就需要停止對人民的海量資料蒐集。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_TW: 請來信到 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 詢問有關自由軟體基金會（FSF）和 GNU 的一般問題；或者<a href="/contact/">以其他方式</a>聯絡自由軟體基金會。至於損毀的連結及其他修正和建議，可以將之寄給 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and submitting translations of this article.
zh_TW: 我們努力盡所能提供貼切、品質良善的翻譯。然而，我們無法十全十美，還請將你的意見評述與一般建議寄給 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p>
    <p>請參照 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">翻譯讀我 README</a> 來瞭解協調和提交我們的網頁翻譯相關事宜。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
zh_TW: 本頁面採用<a rel="license" href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/deed.zh_TW">創用 CC 姓名標示-禁止改作 4.0 國際</a>條款給予授權。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_TW: <b>翻譯</b>：黃柏諺 <a href="mailto:s8321414 (at) gmail (dot) com">&lt;s8321414 (at) gmail (dot) com&gt;</a>, 2019.

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_TW: 更新時間︰
