university.html - en to zh_TW translation catalogue (21 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Releasing Free Software If You Work at a University - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_TW: 如果你在大學裡工作，請釋出自由軟體 - GNU 專案 - 自由軟體基金會

note: type: Content of: <h2>
en: Releasing Free Software If You Work at a University
zh_TW: 如果你在大學裡工作，請釋出自由軟體

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: In the free software movement, we believe computer users should have the freedom to change and redistribute the software that they use.  The &ldquo;free&rdquo; in &ldquo;free software&rdquo; refers to freedom: it means users have the freedom to run, modify and redistribute the software.  Free software contributes to human knowledge, while nonfree software does not.  Universities should therefore encourage free software for the sake of advancing human knowledge, just as they should encourage scientists and other scholars to publish their work.
zh_TW: 在自由軟體運動中，我們認為電腦使用者應該有變更與轉散發他們使用的軟體的自由。這種自由代表了使用者有執行、修改並轉散發軟體的自由。自由軟體對人類的知識有所貢獻，而非自由軟體則否。因此，大學應該鼓勵自由軟體以促進人類的知識進步，就像他們應該鼓勵科學家和其他學者發表他們的作品一樣。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Alas, many university administrators have a grasping attitude towards software (and towards science); they see programs as opportunities for income, not as opportunities to contribute to human knowledge.  Free software developers have been coping with this tendency for almost 20 years.
zh_TW: 唉，許多大學的管理者對軟體（以及科學）有一種貪得無厭的態度，他們認為計畫是賺取收入的機會，而不是對人類知識有所貢獻的機會。近20年來，自由軟體開發者一直面對著這種趨勢。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: When I started developing the <a href="/gnu/thegnuproject.html">GNU operating system</a>, in 1984, my first step was to quit my job at MIT.  I did this specifically so that the MIT licensing office would be unable to interfere with releasing GNU as free software.  I had planned an approach for licensing the programs in GNU that would ensure that all modified versions must be free software as well&mdash;an approach that developed into the <a href="/licenses/gpl.html">GNU General Public License</a> (GNU GPL)&mdash;and I did not want to have to beg the MIT administration to let me use it.
zh_TW: 當我在1984年開始開發 <a href="/gnu/thegnuproject.html">GNU作業系統</a>時，我的第一步就是辭掉在麻省理工學院的工作。我這樣作是為了不讓他們的許可辦公室干擾 GNU 以自由軟體的形式釋出。我當時已經計劃好一種方法來授權 GNU 中的程式，這將可以確保所有修改版本都必須以自由軟體的形式釋出，這種方法後來變成了 <a href="/licenses/gpl.html">GNU通用公共授權條款</a> (GNU GPL)，而我並不想請求他們的管理層讓我使用它。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Over the years, university affiliates have often come to the Free Software Foundation for advice on how to cope with administrators who see software only as something to sell.  One good method, applicable even for specifically funded projects, is to base your work on an existing program that was released under the GNU GPL.  Then you can tell the administrators, &ldquo;We're not allowed to release the modified version except under the GNU GPL&mdash;any other way would be copyright infringement.&rdquo; After the dollar signs fade from their eyes, they will usually consent to releasing it as free software.
zh_TW: 多年來，大學的附屬機構經常來自由軟體基金會取得如何應對管理層的建議，這些管理層只將軟體視為可出售的東西。其中一種方式是將你的專案奠基於既有以 GNU GPL 釋出的程式。然後你就可以告訴管理員「除非以 GNU GPL 授權，否則我們無法釋出修改過的版本，其他方式都會侵犯版權。」在金錢的符號從他們的視野中消失後，他們通常會同意以自由軟體釋出。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: You can also ask your funding sponsor for help.  When a group at NYU developed the GNU Ada Compiler, with funding from the US Air Force, the contract explicitly called for donating the resulting code to the Free Software Foundation.  Work out the arrangement with the sponsor first, then politely show the university administration that it is not open to renegotiation.  They would rather have a contract to develop free software than no contract at all, so they will most likely go along.
zh_TW: 你也可以向你的贊助者尋求協助。當紐約大學的一個小組在美國空軍的資助下開發了 GNU Ada 編譯器，合約明確地要求將程式碼捐贈給自由軟體基金會。首先與贊助商一起安排，然後再禮貌地告訴大學的管理層說明它無法重新談判。他們寧可簽訂合約來開發自由軟體勝過根本沒有合約，因此他們很可能會繼續合作。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Whatever you do, raise the issue early&mdash;well before the program is half finished.  At this point, the university still needs you, so you can play hardball: tell the administration you will finish the program, make it usable, if they agree in writing to make it free software (and agree to your choice of free software license).  Otherwise you will work on it only enough to write a paper about it, and never make a version good enough to release.  When the administrators know their choice is to have a free software package that brings credit to the university or nothing at all, they will usually choose the former.
zh_TW: 不論你要怎麼做，都要在程序完成一半之前儘早提出問題。在這點上，大學仍需要你，所以你可以強硬一點：告訴管理層如果他們書面同意使其成為自由軟體（並同意你選擇的自由軟體授權條款）才會完成程式並使其可用。否則你只會讓它只夠寫一篇論文出來，而且不會釋出夠好的版本。當管理層知道他們的選擇是擁有一個自由軟體包來增加大學的聲譽，或是什麼都沒有，他們通常會選擇前者。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: The FSF can sometimes persuade your university to accept the GNU General Public License, or to accept GPL version 3.  If you can't do it alone, please give us the chance to help.  Send mail to licensing@fsf.org, and put &ldquo;urgent&rdquo; in the Subject field.
zh_TW: 自由軟體基金會有時候可以說服你的大學接受 GPL。如果你無法單獨執行，請給我們幫忙的機會。傳送電子郵件到 licensing@fsf.org，然後在主旨欄註明 "urgent"。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Not all universities have grasping policies.  The University of Texas has a policy that makes it easy to release software developed there as free software under the GNU General Public License.  Univates in Brazil, and the International Institute of Information Technology in Hyderabad, India, both have policies in favor of releasing software under the GPL.  By developing faculty support first, you may be able to institute such a policy at your university.  Present the issue as one of principle: does the university have a mission to advance human knowledge, or is its sole purpose to perpetuate itself?
zh_TW: 不是所有大學都有如此貪婪的政策。像是德州大學就有讓以 GPL 授權的自由軟體輕鬆釋出的政策。巴西的 Univates 和印度海德拉巴的國際資訊科技研究所都有支援以 GPL釋出軟體的政策。先培養教師的支持，你可以在你的大學制定這樣的政策。將此問題作為原則提出：大學是否有推動人類知識的使命，或是它的目的是讓自己永久存在？

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: In persuading the university, it helps to approach the issue with determination and based on an ethical perspective, as we do in the free software movement.  To treat the public ethically, the software should be free&mdash;as in freedom&mdash;for the whole public.
zh_TW: 在說服大學的時候，就像我們在自由軟體運動中做的那樣，以堅定的態度並訴諸道德有助於處理問題。為了道德地對待大眾，軟體應對整個大眾來說都是自由的。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Many developers of free software profess narrowly practical reasons for doing so: they advocate allowing others to share and change software as an expedient for making software powerful and reliable.  If those values motivate you to develop free software, well and good, and thank you for your contribution.  But those values do not give you a good footing to stand firm when university administrators pressure or tempt you to make the program nonfree.
zh_TW: 許多自由軟體開發者都認為這樣做的理由很簡單：他們主張允許其他人分享並修改軟體，如此可以讓軟體變得更強大也更可靠。如果這樣的價值觀激勵了你開發自由軟體，那就好了，感謝你的貢獻。但是當大學管理層迫使或誘使你無法讓軟體自由時，這些價值觀可能無法讓你站穩腳跟。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: For instance, they may argue that &ldquo;We could make it even more powerful and reliable with all the money we can get.&rdquo; This claim may or may not come true in the end, but it is hard to disprove in advance.  They may suggest a license to offer copies &ldquo;free of charge, for academic use only,&rdquo; which would tell the general public they don't deserve freedom, and argue that this will obtain the cooperation of academia, which is all (they say) you need.
zh_TW: 舉例來說，他們可能會爭辯說「我們可以用我們所能得到的資金來讓軟體變得更強大也更可靠。」這種說法最終可能會也可能不會實現，但很難提早反駁。他們也可能會建議使用「僅供學術用途免費使用」的授權方式，這是在告訴大眾他們不應該獲得自由，並認為這樣可以獲得學術界的合作，而這都是（他們說）你需要的。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: If you start from values of convenience alone, it is hard to make a good case for rejecting these dead-end proposals, but you can do it easily if you base your stand on ethical and political values.  What good is it to make a program powerful and reliable at the expense of users' freedom? Shouldn't freedom apply outside academia as well as within it? The answers are obvious if freedom and community are among your goals.  Free software respects the users' freedom, while nonfree software negates it.
zh_TW: 如果你從單純的價值觀開始，很難為這些看似死胡同的提議做好準備，但如果你的觀點建基於道德面與政策面上，這類的矛盾就很容易解決了。以犧牲使用者的自由來換取程式強大且可靠有什麼用呢？自由對學術界內外難道不應該一體適用嗎？如果自由與社群是你的目標之一，那麼答案是顯而易見的。自由軟體尊重使用者的自由，而非自由軟體則否定它。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Nothing strengthens your resolve like knowing that the community's freedom depends, in one instance, on you.
zh_TW: 沒有其他事情能像知道社群的自由某種程度上取決於你能更強化你的決心了。

note: type: Content of: <blockquote><p>
en: This essay is published in <a href="http://shop.fsf.org/product/free-software-free-society/"><cite>Free Software, Free Society: The Selected Essays of Richard M. Stallman</cite></a>.
zh_TW: 本文發表於<a href="http://shop.fsf.org/product/free-software-free-society/"><cite>自由軟體，自由社會：理查史托曼文選</cite></a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_TW: 請來信到 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 詢問有關自由軟體基金會（FSF）和 GNU 的一般問題；或者<a href="/contact/">以其他方式</a>聯絡自由軟體基金會。至於損毀的連結及其他修正和建議，可以將之寄給 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and submitting translations of this article.
zh_TW: 我們努力盡所能提供貼切、品質良善的翻譯。然而，我們無法十全十美，還請將你的意見評述與一般建議寄給 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p>
    <p>請參照 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">翻譯讀我 README</a> 來瞭解協調和提交我們的網頁翻譯相關事宜。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/3.0/us/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 United States License</a>.
zh_TW: 本頁面採用<a rel="license" href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/3.0/us/">創用 CC 姓名標示-禁止改作 3.0 美國</a>條款給予授權。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_TW: <b>翻譯</b>：黃柏諺 <a href="mailto:s8321414 (at) gmail (dot) com">&lt;s8321414 (at) gmail (dot) com&gt;</a>, 2019.

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_TW: 更新時間︰
