who-does-that-server-really-serve.html - en to zh_TW translation catalogue (68 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Who Does That Server Really Serve? - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_TW: 伺服器究竟為誰服務？ - GNU 專案 - 自由軟體基金會

note: type: Content of: <h2>
en: Who does that server really serve?
zh_TW: 伺服器究竟為誰服務？

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: by <strong>Richard Stallman</strong>
zh_TW: 作者為 <strong>Richard Stallman</strong>

note: type: Content of: <blockquote><p>
en: (The first version was published in <a href="http://www.bostonreview.net/richard-stallman-free-software-DRM"> Boston Review</a>.)
zh_TW: （本文首次發佈於<a href="http://www.bostonreview.net/richard-stallman-free-software-DRM">波士頓評論</a>。）

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: <strong>On the Internet, proprietary software isn't the only way to lose your freedom.  Service as a Software Substitute, or SaaSS, is another way to give someone else power over your computing.</strong>
zh_TW: <strong>在網路上，專有軟體並不是唯一一個會讓你失去自由的途徑。服務替代軟體，或稱 SaaSS，就是另一個讓別人掌控你的電腦的途徑。</strong>

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: The basic point is, you can have control over a program someone else wrote (if it's free), but you can never have control over a service someone else runs, so never use a service where in principle a program would do.
zh_TW: 基本的觀點是，你可以控制其他人編寫的程式（如果它是自由軟體的話），但你永遠不能控制其他人營運的服務，所以原則上，使用程式就能完成工作的話，就不要使用服務。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: SaaSS means using a service implemented by someone else as a substitute for running your copy of a program.  The term is ours; articles and ads won't use it, and they won't tell you whether a service is SaaSS.  Instead they will probably use the vague and distracting term &ldquo;cloud&rdquo;, which lumps SaaSS together with various other practices, some abusive and some ok.  With the explanation and examples in this page, you can tell whether a service is SaaSS.
zh_TW: SaaSS 代表了使用他人實作的服務來代替在自己的電腦上執行程式。這個術語只有我們在使用；其他報章雜誌並不會用它，他們也不會告訴你某項服務是否為 SaaSS。另外，他門可能會使用含糊且分散注意力的「雲端」這個詞，它把 SaaSS 與其他實作方式混在一起了，其中一些是濫用，某些則還可以。透過本文的解釋與舉例，你就能分辨某項服務到底是不是 SaaSS。

note: type: Content of: <h3>
en: Background: How Proprietary Software Takes Away Your Freedom
zh_TW: 背景：專有軟體如何奪取你的自由

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Digital technology can give you freedom; it can also take your freedom away.  The first threat to our control over our computing came from <em>proprietary software</em>: software that the users cannot control because the owner (a company such as Apple or Microsoft)  controls it.  The owner often takes advantage of this unjust power by inserting malicious features such as spyware, back doors, and <a href="http://DefectiveByDesign.org">Digital Restrictions Management (DRM)</a> (referred to as &ldquo;Digital Rights Management&rdquo; in their propaganda).
zh_TW: 數位科技可以給你自由；當然也能奪取自由。第一個對我們掌控電腦的威脅來自<em>專有軟體</em>：使用者無法掌控軟體，因為其擁有者（如蘋果或微軟這類公司）控制它。其擁有者經常利用這種不公平的權力植入惡意功能，如間諜軟體、後門與<a href="http://DefectiveByDesign.org">數位限制管理 (DRM)</a>（請參考他們宣傳中的「數位版權管理」）。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Our solution to this problem is developing <em>free software</em> and rejecting proprietary software.  Free software means that you, as a user, have four essential freedoms: (0)&nbsp;to run the program as you wish, (1)&nbsp;to study and change the source code so it does what you wish, (2)&nbsp;to redistribute exact copies, and (3)&nbsp;to redistribute copies of your modified versions.  (See the <a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">free software definition</a>.)
zh_TW: 我們對此的解決方案是開發<em>自由軟體</em>並拒絕專有軟體。自由軟體代表了，作為使用者的你，擁有四大基本自由：(0) 依照你的想法執行該程式的自由，(1) 研究該程式如何運作的自由，並依照你的想法修改它以符合你的運算所需，(2) 再次散布程式副本的自由，(3) 將你修改過後的版本散布給他人的自由。（參見<a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">自由軟體的定義</a>。）

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: With free software, we, the users, take back control of our computing.  Proprietary software still exists, but we can exclude it from our lives and many of us have done so.  However, we are now offered another tempting way to cede control over our computing: Service as a Software Substitute (SaaSS).  For our freedom's sake, we have to reject that too.
zh_TW: 藉助自由軟體，作為使用者的我們，奪回了對電腦的控制權。專有軟體依然群組，但我們可以將其排除在我們的生活之外，而我們也確實做到了。可是，現在有另一種方式誘使我們放棄對電腦的掌控：服務替代軟體 (SaaSS)。以自由之名，我們也必須拒絕它。

note: type: Content of: <h3>
en: How Service as a Software Substitute Takes Away Your Freedom
zh_TW: 服務替代軟體如何奪取你的自由

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Service as a Software Substitute (SaaSS) means using a service as a substitute for running your copy of a program.  Concretely, it means that someone sets up a network server that does certain computing tasks&mdash;for instance, modifying a photo, translating text into another language, etc.&mdash;then invites users to do computing via that server.  A user of the server would send her data to the server, which does <em>her own computing</em> on the data thus provided, then sends the results back to her or acts directly on her behalf.
zh_TW: 服務替代軟體 (SaaSS) 的意思是使用服務來代替在你的電腦上執行程式。更精確地說，它的意思就是有人設定好一組網路伺服器來完整某些特定的工作，例如修改照片、翻譯文字等等。然後邀請使用者使用這組伺服器來進行工作。使用伺服器的使用者會把其資料傳送給伺服器，而伺服器使用者些資料來<em>進行使用者的工作</em>，然後再將結果回傳或直接以使用者的名義行事。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: The computing is <em>her own</em> because, by assumption, she could, in principle, have done it by running a program on her own computer (whether or not that program is available to her at present).  In cases where this assumption is not so, it isn't SaaSS.
zh_TW: 這個運算行為是<em>使用者自己的</em>，因為原則上使用者可以在自己的電腦上使用程式進行運算（不論目前使用是否能使用該程式）。如果這個假設不成立，那就不是 SaaSS。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: These servers wrest control from the users even more inexorably than proprietary software.  With proprietary software, users typically get an executable file but not the source code.  That makes it hard to study the code that is running, so it's hard to determine what the program really does, and hard to change it.
zh_TW: 這些伺服器奪取使用者自由的方式甚至比專有軟體還無情。使用專有軟體，使用者至少還可以取得其執行檔（雖然沒有原始碼）。這讓學習其原始碼變得相當困難，所以判斷程式真的做了哪些動作變得相當困難，當然也很難修改它。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: With SaaSS, the users do not have even the executable file that does their computing: it is on someone else's server, where the users can't see or touch it.  Thus it is impossible for them to ascertain what it really does, and impossible to change it.
zh_TW: 使用 SaaSS，使用者甚至連執行檔都拿不到；它在別人的伺服器上，使用者看不到也摸不著。所以使用者更不可能了解它到底做了什麼，當然更可不能修改它。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Furthermore, SaaSS automatically leads to consequences equivalent to the malicious features of certain proprietary software.
zh_TW: 此外，SaaSS 更會直接導致和某些專有軟體的惡意功能相同的後果。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: For instance, some proprietary programs are &ldquo;spyware&rdquo;: the program <a href="/philosophy/proprietary-surveillance.html"> sends out data about users' computing activities</a>.  Microsoft Windows sends information about users' activities to Microsoft.  Windows Media Player reports what each user watches or listens to.  The Amazon Kindle reports which pages of which books the user looks at, and when.  Angry Birds reports the user's geolocation history.
zh_TW: 舉例來說，某些專有軟體是「間諜軟體」：程式會<a href="/philosophy/proprietary-surveillance.html">向外傳送使用者的電腦活動紀錄</a>。Microsoft Windows 會傳送使用者的活動紀錄給微軟。Windows Media Player 則會回報每個使用者觀看及聆聽了什麼。Amazon Kindle 回回報使用者看了哪些書的哪幾頁，以及什麼時候看的。憤怒鳥則會回報使用者的地理定位紀錄。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Unlike proprietary software, SaaSS does not require covert code to obtain the user's data.  Instead, users must send their data to the server in order to use it.  This has the same effect as spyware: the server operator gets the data&mdash;with no special effort, by the nature of SaaSS.  Amy Webb, who intended never to post any photos of her daughter, made the mistake of using SaaSS (Instagram) to edit photos of her.  Eventually <a href="http://www.slate.com/articles/technology/data_mine_1/2013/09/privacy_facebook_kids_don_t_post_photos_of_your_kids_on_social_media.html"> they leaked from there</a>.
zh_TW: 與專有軟體不同，SaaSS 並不需要隱藏程式碼來取得使用者的資料。因為使用者必須將資料交給伺服器才能得到服務。這和間諜軟體的效果相同：伺服器營運者毫不費力就可以取得資料，因為 SaaSS 就是這樣。Amy Webb 從來沒有打算要發佈她女兒的任何照片，但錯誤地使用了 SaaSS (Instagram) 來編輯她的照片。最後，<a href="http://www.slate.com/articles/technology/data_mine_1/2013/09/privacy_facebook_kids_don_t_post_photos_of_your_kids_on_social_media.html">照片依然從那裡流出</a>。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Theoretically, homomorphic encryption might some day advance to the point where future SaaSS services might be constructed to be unable to understand some of the data that users send them.  Such services <em>could</em> be set up not to snoop on users; this does not mean they <em>will</em> do no snooping.
zh_TW: 理論上，同態加密可能發展到有一天未來的 SaaSS 服務無法理解使用者傳送過來的某些資料。這樣的服務<em>可能</em>無法窺探使用者；但這並不代表他們<em>不再</em>窺探使用者。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Some proprietary operating systems have a universal back door, permitting someone to remotely install software changes.  For instance, Windows has a universal back door with which Microsoft can forcibly change any software on the machine.  Nearly all portable phones have them, too.  Some proprietary applications also have universal back doors; for instance, the Steam client for GNU/Linux allows the developer to remotely install modified versions.
zh_TW: 某些專有的作業系統帶有通用後門，其允許遠端安裝軟體。舉例來說，Windows 就有一個通用後門，微軟可以利用它來強制變更電腦上的任何軟體。幾乎所有的手機也都有後門。某些專有應用程式也有後門；舉例來說，GNU/Linux 上的 Steam 客戶端允許開發者遠端安裝修改過的版本。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: With SaaSS, the server operator can change the software in use on the server.  He ought to be able to do this, since it's his computer; but the result is the same as using a proprietary application program with a universal back door: someone has the power to silently impose changes in how the user's computing gets done.
zh_TW: 使用 SaaSS，伺服器營運者可以變更他們在伺服器上使用的軟體。他的確可以這麼做，因為這是他的電腦；但其結果跟帶有通用後門的專有應用程式是一樣的：某人可以不動聲色地修改使用者的運算。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Thus, SaaSS is equivalent to running proprietary software with spyware and a universal back door.  It gives the server operator unjust power over the user, and that power is something we must resist.
zh_TW: 因此，SaaSS 與帶有間諜軟體與通用後門的專有軟是一樣的。它給了伺服器營運者凌駕於使用者之上的權力，而這正是我們必須反抗的權力。

note: type: Content of: <h3>
en: SaaSS and SaaS
zh_TW: SaaSS 與 SaaS

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Originally we referred to this problematical practice as &ldquo;SaaS&rdquo;, which stands for &ldquo;Software as a Service&rdquo;.  It's a commonly used term for setting up software on a server rather than offering copies of it to users, and we thought it described precisely the cases where this problem occurs.
zh_TW: 最初我們認為有問題的實作是 &ldquo;SaaS&rdquo;，亦即「軟體即服務」。這是一個常用的術語，它是在伺服器上安裝軟體而不給使用者副本，而我們認為這個術語準確地描述了此類的實作問題之所在。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Subsequently we became aware that the term SaaS is sometimes used for communication services&mdash;activities for which this issue is not applicable.  In addition, the term &ldquo;Software as a Service&rdquo; doesn't explain <em>why</em> the practice is bad.  So we coined the term &ldquo;Service as a Software Substitute&rdquo;, which defines the bad practice more clearly and says what is bad about it.
zh_TW: 後來我們意識到 SaaS 這個術語有時也用於通訊服務，但這些問題並不適用於此類服務。另外，「軟體即服務」這個術語並不能解釋這類的實踐<em>為什麼</em>不好。所以我們創造了「軟體替代服務」，其更清楚的定義了這個實踐的不佳之處。

note: type: Content of: <h3>
en: Untangling the SaaSS Issue from the Proprietary Software Issue
zh_TW: 區別 SaaSS 問題與專有軟體問題

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: SaaSS and proprietary software lead to similar harmful results, but the mechanisms are different.  With proprietary software, the mechanism is that you have and use a copy which is difficult and/or illegal to change.  With SaaSS, the mechanism is that you don't have the copy that's doing your computing.
zh_TW: SaaSS 與專有軟體導致了類似的有害結果，但機制有所不同。對於專有軟體，其機制為你擁有並使用軟體副本，但修改這份副本相當困難且／或是違法的。對於 SaaSS 來說，其機制為軟體進行運算，但你並沒有該軟體的副本。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: These two issues are often confused, and not only by accident.  Web developers use the vague term &ldquo;web application&rdquo; to lump the server software together with programs run on your machine in your browser.  Some web pages install nontrivial, even large JavaScript programs into your browser without informing you.  <a href="/philosophy/javascript-trap.html">When these JavaScript programs are nonfree</a>, they cause the same sort of injustice as any other nonfree software.  Here, however, we are concerned with the issue of using the service itself.
zh_TW: 這兩個問題經常令人困惑，而這並不僅是個意外。網路開發者會使用模糊不清的「網路應用程式」一詞將伺服器端的軟體與在你的瀏覽器上執行的程式混為一談。有些網站會在你的瀏覽器上安裝不平凡的，甚至是大型的 JavaScript 程式，而且不會告訴你。<a href="/philosophy/javascript-trap.html">當這些 JavaScript 程式不是自由軟體時</a>，它們就會像其他非自由軟體一樣導致不公正。不過，在這裡，我們關心的是使用服務本身。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Many free software supporters assume that the problem of SaaSS will be solved by developing free software for servers.  For the server operator's sake, the programs on the server had better be free; if they are proprietary, their developers/owners have power over the server.  That's unfair to the server operator, and doesn't help the server's users at all.  But if the programs on the server are free, that doesn't protect <em>the server's users</em> from the effects of SaaSS.  These programs liberate the server operator, but not the server's users.
zh_TW: 許多自由軟體支持者認為 SaaSS 問題會因為伺服器端的自由軟體而解決。對伺服器的營運者來說，伺服器端的軟體最好是自由軟體；如果它是專有軟體，那麼其開發者／擁有者就有了凌駕伺服器之上的權力。這對伺服器營運者來說是不公正的，而且對伺服器的使用者也毫無幫助。但如果伺服器端的軟體是自由軟體，其也沒有保護<em>伺服器的使用者</em>不受 SaaSS 的影響。該程式給了伺服器營運者自由，但卻沒有給伺服器的使用者自由。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Releasing the server software source code does benefit the community: it enables suitably skilled users to set up similar servers, perhaps changing the software.  <a href="/licenses/license-recommendations.html"> We recommend using the GNU Affero GPL</a> as the license for programs often used on servers.
zh_TW: 釋出伺服器軟體的原始碼可以讓社群受益：這讓有相對應技術的使用者可以建立類似的伺服器，也能修改軟體。<a href="/licenses/license-recommendations.html">我們建議使用 GNU Affero GPL</a> 作為伺服器端軟體的授權條款。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: But none of these servers would give you control over computing you do on it, unless it's <em>your</em> server (one whose software load you control, regardless of whether the machine is your property).  It may be OK to trust your friend's server for some jobs, just as you might let your friend maintain the software on your own computer.  Outside of that, all these servers would be SaaSS for you.  SaaSS always subjects you to the power of the server operator, and the only remedy is, <em>Don't use SaaSS!</em> Don't use someone else's server to do your own computing on data provided by you.
zh_TW: 但這些伺服器都不能讓你控制自己的運算，除非那是<em>你的</em>伺服器（你可以控制其軟體，即便硬體可能不是你的）。也許某些工作你可以放心地使用朋友的伺服器，就像你讓朋友在你的伺服器上維護軟體一樣。除此之外的伺服器對你來說都應該是 SaaSS。SaaSS 永遠會讓你受制於伺服器營運者的權力，而唯一的解決方式就是，<em>不要使用 SaaSS！</em>不要使用他人的伺服器對你提供的資料進行運算。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: This issue demonstrates the depth of the difference between &ldquo;open&rdquo; and &ldquo;free&rdquo;.  Source code that is open source <a href="/philosophy/free-open-overlap.html">is, nearly always, free</a>.  However, the idea of an <a href="https://opendefinition.org/ossd/">&ldquo;open software&rdquo; service</a>, meaning one whose server software is open source and/or free, fails to address the issue of SaaSS.
zh_TW: 這個問題顯示了「開放」與「自由」間深度的不同。原始碼是開放原始碼<a href="/philosophy/free-open-overlap.html">代表幾乎可以說是自由軟體</a>。不過，<a href="https://opendefinition.org/ossd/">「開放原始碼軟體」服務</a>代表伺服器軟體是開放原始碼及或／或自由軟體，但卻完全沒有解決 SaaSS 的問題。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Services are fundamentally different from programs, and the ethical issues that services raise are fundamentally different from the issues that programs raise.  To avoid confusion, we <a href="/philosophy/network-services-arent-free-or-nonfree.html"> avoid describing a service as &ldquo;free&rdquo; or &ldquo;proprietary.&rdquo;</a>
zh_TW: 服務從根本上就不同於程式，由它帶來的道德問題也從根本上與程式不同。要避免混淆，我們<a href="/philosophy/network-services-arent-free-or-nonfree.html">會避免將服務描述為「自由」或「專有」的</a>。

note: type: Content of: <h3>
en: Distinguishing SaaSS from Other Network Services
zh_TW: 區別 SaaSS 與其他網路服務

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Which online services are SaaSS? The clearest example is a translation service, which translates (say) English text into Spanish text.  Translating a text for you is computing that is purely yours.  You could do it by running a program on your own computer, if only you had the right program.  (To be ethical, that program should be free.)  The translation service substitutes for that program, so it is Service as a Software Substitute, or SaaSS.  Since it denies you control over your computing, it does you wrong.
zh_TW: 哪些線上服務是 SaaSS？最明顯的例子就是翻譯服務，比如其將英文翻譯為西班牙文文字。翻譯這件事唇粹是你自己的運算。如果你有程式的話，你可以透過在電腦上執行這個程式來完成。（就以道德來說，這個程式應該要是自由軟體。）翻譯服務替代了這個軟體，所以它是服務替代軟體，簡稱 SaaSS。由於它剝奪了你控制自己的運算的權利，所以它對你作惡。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Another clear example is using a service such as Flickr or Instagram to modify a photo.  Modifying photos is an activity that people have done in their own computers for decades; doing it in a server you don't control, rather than your own computer, is SaaSS.
zh_TW: 另一個明顯的例子是使用如 Flickr 或 Instagram 之類的服務來編輯照片。數十年來，人們都是在自己的電腦上編輯照片；在你無法控制的伺服器上編輯照片，而不是在你自己的電腦上，就是 SaaSS。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Rejecting SaaSS does not mean refusing to use any network servers run by anyone other than you.  Most servers are not SaaSS because the jobs they do are some sort of communication, rather than the user's own computing.
zh_TW: 拒絕 SaaSS 並不代表要拒絕網路上所有由其他人營運的網路伺服器。大多數的伺服器並非 SaaSS，因為它們的工作是通訊，而不是為使用者進行運算。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: The original idea of web servers wasn't to do computing for you, it was to publish information for you to access.  Even today this is what most web sites do, and it doesn't pose the SaaSS problem, because accessing someone's published information isn't doing your own computing.  Neither is use of a blog site to publish your own works, or using a microblogging service such as Twitter or StatusNet.  (These services may or may not have other problems, depending on details.)  The same goes for other communication not meant to be private, such as chat groups.
zh_TW: 網路伺服器最初的概念不是要為使用者進行運算，而是讓你可以存取其發佈的資訊。即便在今天，這還是大多數網站在做的事情，這並沒有 SaaSS 的問題，因為存取其他人發佈的資訊並不是在進行你自己的運算。使用部落格網站發佈自己的成果也不是，當然使用 Twitter 或 StatusNet 等微部落格服務也一樣。（這些服務可能會有其他問題，根據實際狀況而有所不同。）這個道理對其他非私人的通訊也適用，如聊天室等。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: In its essence, social networking is a form of communication and publication, not SaaSS.  However, a service whose main facility is social networking can have features or extensions which are SaaSS.
zh_TW: 觀其本質，社群網路是一種溝通與出版的形式，並非 SaaSS。不過，如果某個服務的主要功能是社群網路的話，它就可能帶有 SaaSS 的功能或擴展。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: If a service is not SaaSS, that does not mean it is OK.  There are other ethical issues about services.  For instance, Facebook distributes video in Flash, which pressures users to run nonfree software; it requires running nonfree JavaScript code; and it gives users a misleading impression of privacy while luring them into baring their lives to Facebook.  Those are important issues, different from the SaaSS issue.
zh_TW: 如果某項服務不是 SaaSS，並不代表它就沒有問題。服務仍可能會有其他的道德問題。舉例來說，Facebook 層經使用 Flash 來作為影片播放器，就是在強迫使用者使用非自由軟體；其要求使用非自由的 JavaScript 程式碼；而其讓使用展示自己的生活來誤導他們對隱私的感覺。這些都是重要的問題，但不同於 SaaSS 的問題。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Services such as search engines collect data from around the web and let you examine it.  Looking through their collection of data isn't your own computing in the usual sense&mdash;you didn't provide that collection&mdash;so using such a service to search the web is not SaaSS.  However, using someone else's server to implement a search facility for your own site <em>is</em> SaaSS.
zh_TW: 搜尋引擎之類的服務是從網路上蒐集資料並讓你查看。查看他們蒐集的資料並不是一般意義上的使用者運算活動，你並沒有提供這些資料，所以使用這類網路搜尋服務不是 SaaSS。不過，使用他人的伺服器為你自己的網站部署搜尋功能<em>就是</em> SaaSS。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Purchasing online is not SaaSS, because the computing isn't <em>your own</em> activity; rather, it is done jointly by and for you and the store.  The real issue in online shopping is whether you trust the other party with your money and other personal information (starting with your name).
zh_TW: 線上購務也不是 SaaSS，因為這個運算不是<em>你自己的</em>活動；而是你與商店共同完成的活動。線上購物真正的問題是，你是否信任收錢的一方，以及其他個人資訊（從你的名字開始）。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Repository sites such as Savannah and SourceForge are not inherently SaaSS, because a repository's job is publication of data supplied to it.
zh_TW: 諸如 Savannah 與 SourceForge 之類的儲存庫網站本身並不是 SaaSS，因為儲存庫的工作是發佈交給它的資料。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Using a joint project's servers isn't SaaSS because the computing you do in this way isn't your own.  For instance, if you edit pages on Wikipedia, you are not doing your own computing; rather, you are collaborating in Wikipedia's computing.  Wikipedia controls its own servers, but organizations as well as individuals encounter the problem of SaaSS if they do their computing in someone else's server.
zh_TW: 使用協作專案的伺服器並不是 SaaSS，因為你做的運算不是你自己的。舉例來說，如果你在維基百科上編輯了頁面，那你並不是在做自己的運算；而是你與維基百科協作運算。維基百科控制了它自己的伺服器，但如果他們使用的是其他人的伺服器，那麼組織與個人都會遇到 SaaSS 的問題。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Some sites offer multiple services, and if one is not SaaSS, another may be SaaSS.  For instance, the main service of Facebook is social networking, and that is not SaaSS; however, it supports third-party applications, some of which are SaaSS.  Flickr's main service is distributing photos, which is not SaaSS, but it also has features for editing photos, which is SaaSS.  Likewise, using Instagram to post a photo is not SaaSS, but using it to transform the photo is SaaSS.
zh_TW: 有些網站提供多種服務，就算其中一種不是 SaaSS，其他的也可能是 SaaSS。舉例來說，Facebook 的主要服務是社群網路，這不是 SaaSS；但其支援第三方應用程式，其中有些是 SaaSS。Flickr 的主要服務是發佈照片，這不是 SaaSS，但它還有編輯照片的功能，這就是 SaaSS。同樣地，使用 Instagram 發佈照片不是 SaaSS，但使用它來轉換照片格式就是 SaaSS。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Google Docs shows how complex the evaluation of a single service can become.  It invites people to edit a document by running a large <a href="/philosophy/javascript-trap.html">nonfree JavaScript program</a>, clearly wrong.  However, it offers an API for uploading and downloading documents in standard formats.  A free software editor can do so through this API.  This usage scenario is not SaaSS, because it uses Google Docs as a mere repository.  Showing all your data to a company is bad, but that is a matter of privacy, not SaaSS; depending on a service for access to your data is bad, but that is a matter of risk, not SaaSS.  On the other hand, using the service for converting document formats <em>is</em> SaaSS, because it's something you could have done by running a suitable program (free, one hopes) in your own computer.
zh_TW: Google 文件展示了要評價某個服務有多麼複雜。它讓人們透過執行大型的<a href="/philosophy/javascript-trap.html">非自由 JavaScript 程式</a>來編輯文件，這很明顯是錯的。然而，它也提供了上傳與下載標準格式文件的 API。自由軟體編輯器也能透過這個 API 傳輸檔案。這類使用場景就不是 SaaSS，因為此時 Google 文件只是被當作儲存庫使用。把自己的資料展示給一間公司是一件壞事，但這是隱私的問題，不是 SaaSS；依賴某個伺服器來存取自己的資料是一件壞事，但這是風險的問題，不是 SaaSS。另一方面，使用伺服器來轉換文件格式<em>就是</em> SaaSS，因為你可以使用自己電腦裡適合的程式（希望是自由軟體）來完成這件事情。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Using Google Docs through a free editor is rare, of course.  Most often, people use it through the nonfree JavaScript program, which is bad like any nonfree program.  This scenario might involve SaaSS, too; that depends on what part of the editing is done in the JavaScript program and what part in the server.  We don't know, but since SaaSS and proprietary software do similar wrong to the user, it is not crucial to know.
zh_TW: 當然，透過自由的編輯器使用 Google 文件並不常見。大多數情況下，人們會透過非自由的 JavaScript 程式來使用它，而這和使用其他任何非自由軟體一樣糟糕。這個狀況還可能會有 SaaSS，這取決於哪些動作是 JavaScript 程式做的，哪些又是伺服器做的。我們不知道，但因為 SaaSS 與專有軟體都對使用者作惡，知不知道也就不是那麼重要了。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Publishing via someone else's repository does not raise privacy issues, but publishing through Google Docs has a special problem: it is impossible even to <em>view the text</em> of a Google Docs document in a browser without running the nonfree JavaScript code.  Thus, you should not use Google Docs to publish anything&mdash;but the reason is not a matter of SaaSS.
zh_TW: 透過他人的儲存庫發佈不會有隱私問題，但透過 Google 文件發佈有個特別的問題：只要不執行非自由的 JavaScript 程式碼，你連在 Google 文件裡<em>檢視文字</em>都做不到。因此，您不應該使用 Google 文件來發佈任何東西，但理由與 SaaSS 無關。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: The IT industry discourages users from making these distinctions.  That's what the buzzword &ldquo;cloud computing&rdquo; is for.  This term is so nebulous that it could refer to almost any use of the Internet.  It includes SaaSS as well as many other network usage practices.  In any given context, an author who writes &ldquo;cloud&rdquo; (if a technical person) probably has a specific meaning in mind, but usually does not explain that in other articles the term has other specific meanings.  The term leads people to generalize about practices they ought to consider individually.
zh_TW: 資訊產業並不鼓勵使用者做出這些區分。這就是「雲端運算」這個時髦用語的用途。這個詞非常模糊不清，導致其幾乎可以標示任何網際網路的使用形式。它當然包含了 SaaSS，但也包含許多其他網路使用狀況。在一個特定的語境下，使用者可能用「雲端」（如果是技術背景的使用者）來表示腦海中一個特定的意思，但是通常不會解釋這個詞在其他文章中有其他的意思。這個詞引導人們將本應單獨處理的情況進行概括。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: If &ldquo;cloud computing&rdquo; has a meaning, it is not a way of doing computing, but rather a way of thinking about computing: a devil-may-care approach which says, &ldquo;Don't ask questions.  Don't worry about who controls your computing or who holds your data.  Don't check for a hook hidden inside our service before you swallow it.  Trust companies without hesitation.&rdquo; In other words, &ldquo;Be a sucker.&rdquo; A cloud in the mind is an obstacle to clear thinking.  For the sake of clear thinking about computing, let's avoid the term &ldquo;cloud.&rdquo;
zh_TW: 如果「雲端運算」有定義，那它並不是一種運算的方式，而是對運算的一種思考方法：一種魔鬼才會使用的方法，意思是「不要提問。不要擔心是誰控制了你的運算或是誰掌控了你的資料。在你吞掉魚餌之前不要檢查藏在服務裡的釣鉤。要毫不懷疑地相信這些公司。」換句話說，「做一個沒有主見的人。」大腦裡的「雲」就是要阻礙清楚的思考。為了清楚地思考運算，我們避免使用「雲端」這個詞。

note: type: Content of: <h3>
en: Renting a Server Distinguished from SaaSS
zh_TW: 區別租用伺服器與 SaaSS

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: If you rent a server (real or virtual), whose software load you have control over, that's not SaaSS.  In SaaSS, someone else decides what software runs on the server and therefore controls the computing it does for you.  In the case where you install the software on the server, you control what computing it does for you.  Thus, the rented server is virtually your computer.  For this issue, it counts as yours.
zh_TW: 如果你租用了伺服器（不管是實體或虛擬機器），你可以控制其要載入什麼軟體，這就不是 SaaSS。在 SaaSS 的狀況中，其他人決定伺服器執行的軟體，所以他們控制著你的運算。在你自行安裝伺服器上的軟體的狀況下，你控制著你的運算。所以，租用伺服器實際上算是你的電腦。此時，我們認為它就是你的。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: The <em>data</em> on the rented remote server is less secure than if you had the server at home, but that is a separate issue from SaaSS.
zh_TW: 在租用的遠端伺服器上的<em>資料</em>不如在自己家中伺服器上的安全，但這是 SaaSS 之外的問題。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: This kind of server rental is sometimes called &ldquo;IaaS,&rdquo; but that term fits into a conceptual structure that downplays the issues that we consider important.
zh_TW: 這種伺服器租賃有時被稱為 &ldquo;IaaS&rdquo;，但這個詞適用的概念輕視了我們所要考慮的重點。

note: type: Content of: <h3>
en: Dealing with the SaaSS Problem
zh_TW: 處理 SaaSS 問題

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Only a small fraction of all web sites do SaaSS; most don't raise the issue.  But what should we do about the ones that raise it?
zh_TW: 僅有少部份的網站使用 SaaSS；大多數的網站並無此問題。但我們要如何應對有這個問題的網站呢？

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: For the simple case, where you are doing your own computing on data in your own hands, the solution is simple: use your own copy of a free software application.  Do your text editing with your copy of a free text editor such as GNU Emacs or a free word processor.  Do your photo editing with your copy of free software such as GIMP.  What if there is no free program available? A proprietary program or SaaSS would take away your freedom, so you shouldn't use those.  You can contribute your time or your money to development of a free replacement.
zh_TW: 對於比較簡單的狀況，也就是你可以用自己的資料進行自己的運算，解決方法也簡單：使用一份你自己的自由軟體副本。用一份諸如 GNU Emacs 或自由的文字處理程式來編輯文字。使用諸如 GIMP 的自由軟體來編輯照片。如果沒有可用的自由軟體怎麼辦？專有軟體或 SaaSS 會奪走你的自由，所以你不應該使用它們。你可以貢獻時間或資金來開發一款可以替代這類專有軟體的自由軟體。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: What about collaborating with other individuals as a group? It may be hard to do this at present without using a server, and your group may not know how to run its own server.  If you use someone else's server, at least don't trust a server run by a company.  A mere contract as a customer is no protection unless you could detect a breach and could really sue, and the company probably writes its contracts to permit a broad range of abuses.  The state can subpoena your data from the company along with everyone else's, as Obama has done to phone companies, supposing the company doesn't volunteer them like the US phone companies that illegally wiretapped their customers for Bush.  If you must use a server, use a server whose operators give you a basis for trust beyond a mere commercial relationship.
zh_TW: 那如果要與其他人協作怎麼辦？這種情形在不使用伺服器的狀況下工作可能會有困難，而你的團隊也可能不知道要如何維護自己的伺服器。如果你要使用由其他人營運的伺服器，至少不要相信由公司營運的伺服器。客戶合約對你來說並不是保障，除非你能偵測到違規並確實起訴，但由公司所編寫的合約可能包含了相當廣泛的濫用。政府也能從這類伺服器強行調取你的與其他人的資料，正如歐巴馬總統對電話公司所做的；還要假設電話公司不會自願交出資料，不過美國電話公司是違法為布希政府監聽其使用者的。如果你必須使用伺服器，請使用除了商業關係以外，還有其他信任基礎的伺服器營運方。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: However, on a longer time scale, we can create alternatives to using servers.  For instance, we can create a peer-to-peer program through which collaborators can share data encrypted.  The free software community should develop distributed peer-to-peer replacements for important &ldquo;web applications&rdquo;.  It may be wise to release them under the <a href="/licenses/why-affero-gpl.html"> GNU Affero GPL</a>, since they are likely candidates for being converted into server-based programs by someone else.  The <a href="/">GNU project</a> is looking for volunteers to work on such replacements.  We also invite other free software projects to consider this issue in their design.
zh_TW: 不過，長遠來看，我們可以建立替代使用伺服器的機制。舉例來說，我們可以建立能夠分享加密資料的 P2P 軟體。自由軟體社群應該要開發分散式的點對點軟體來取代重要的「網路應用程式」。使用 <a href="/licenses/why-affero-gpl.html">GNU Affero GPL</a> 來釋出這些軟體是相當明智的作法，因為它們很有可能會被某些人轉換為以伺服器為基礎的軟體。<a href="/">GNU 計畫</a>正在尋找願意開發這類軟體的志願者。我們也邀請其他自由軟體專案在其設計中考慮這個問題。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: In the meantime, if a company invites you to use its server to do your own computing tasks, don't yield; don't use SaaSS.  Don't buy or install &ldquo;thin clients&rdquo;, which are simply computers so weak they make you do the real work on a server, unless you're going to use them with <em>your</em> server.  Use a real computer and keep your data there.  Do your own computing with your own copy of a free program, for your freedom's sake.
zh_TW: 同時，如果有公司邀請你使用他們的伺服器來完成你的運算，不要接受；不要使用 SaaSS。不要購買或安裝「精簡客戶端」，那只是簡易型的電腦，而其運算能力太弱，導致你的運算只能在他們的伺服器上完成，除非你能配合<em>你的</em>伺服器來使用這種客戶端。使用真正的電腦並將資料限制在那臺電腦上。為了你的自由起見，請使用你自己的自由軟體副本來執行運算。

note: type: Content of: <h3>
en: See also:
zh_TW: 也請參見：

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: <a href="/philosophy/bug-nobody-allowed-to-understand.html">The Bug Nobody is Allowed to Understand</a>.
zh_TW: <a href="/philosophy/bug-nobody-allowed-to-understand.html"> 不讓任何人了解的臭蟲</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_TW: 請來信到 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 詢問有關自由軟體基金會（FSF）和 GNU 的一般問題；或者<a href="/contact/">以其他方式</a>聯絡自由軟體基金會。至於損毀的連結及其他修正和建議，可以將之寄給 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and submitting translations of this article.
zh_TW: 我們努力盡所能提供貼切、品質良善的翻譯。然而，我們無法十全十美，還請將你的意見評述與一般建議寄給 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p>
    <p>請參照 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">翻譯讀我 README</a> 來瞭解協調和提交我們的網頁翻譯相關事宜。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
zh_TW: 本頁面採用<a rel="license" href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/deed.zh_TW">創用 CC 姓名標示-禁止改作 4.0 國際</a>條款給予授權。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_TW: <b>翻譯</b>：黃柏諺 <a href="mailto:s8321414 (at) gmail (dot) com">&lt;s8321414 (at) gmail (dot) com&gt;</a>, 2019.

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_TW: 更新時間︰
