pragmatic.html - en to zh_TW translation catalogue (30 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Copyleft: Pragmatic Idealism - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_TW: 著作傳：務實的理想主義 - GNU 專案 - 自由軟體基金會

note: type: Content of: <h2>
en: Copyleft: Pragmatic Idealism
zh_TW: 著作傳：務實的理想主義

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: by <a href="http://www.stallman.org/"><strong>Richard Stallman</strong></a>
zh_TW: 作者為 <a href="http://www.stallman.org/"><strong>Richard Stallman</strong></a>

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Every decision a person makes stems from the person's values and goals.  People can have many different goals and values; fame, profit, love, survival, fun, and freedom, are just some of the goals that a good person might have.  When the goal is a matter of principle, we call that idealism.
zh_TW: 一個人做出的每個決定都是源於此人的價值觀與目標。人們有很多不同的目標與價值觀；名譽、利益、愛情、生存、快樂與自由，這些只是一般人會有的部份目標。當目標是原則性問題的時候，我們稱之為理想主義。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: My work on free software is motivated by an idealistic goal: spreading freedom and cooperation.  I want to <a href="/philosophy/why-copyleft.html">encourage free software to spread</a>, replacing proprietary software that forbids cooperation, and thus make our society better.
zh_TW: 理想主義的目標驅使著我進行自由軟體的工作：宣揚自由與合作。我想要<a href="/philosophy/why-copyleft.html">鼓勵自由軟體的傳播</a>，讓它取代禁止合作的專有軟體，並因此讓我們的社會變得更好。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: That's the basic reason why the GNU General Public License is written the way it is&mdash;as a <a href="/copyleft"> copyleft</a>.  All code added to a GPL-covered program must be free software, even if it is put in a separate file.  I make my code available for use in free software, and not for use in proprietary software, in order to encourage other people who write software to make it free as well.  I figure that since proprietary software developers use copyright to stop us from sharing, we cooperators can use copyright to give other cooperators an advantage of their own: they can use our code.
zh_TW: 這就是為什麼 GNU 通用公眾授權條款以<a href="/copyleft">著作傳</a>的形式撰寫的原因。所有遵循 GPL 加入到程式中的程式碼都必須是自由軟體，即便這些程式碼是單獨的檔案也是如此。我把我的程式碼給自由軟體使用，而不給專有軟體使用，來鼓勵其他人也將軟體以自由軟體的形式釋出。我認為專有軟體開發者使用著作權來禁止我們分享，那麼我們就使用著作權來讓互相合作的程式設計師得到優勢：他們可以使用我們的程式碼。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Not everyone who uses the GNU GPL has this goal.  Many years ago, a friend of mine was asked to rerelease a copylefted program under noncopyleft terms, and he responded more or less like this:
zh_TW: 並非所有使用 GNU GPL 的人都有這個目標。許多年前，我的一個朋友被要求使用非著作傳的條款釋出已使用著作傳條款的程式，而他可能是這樣回覆的：

note: type: Content of: <blockquote><p>
en: &ldquo;Sometimes I work on free software, and sometimes I work on proprietary software&mdash;but when I work on proprietary software, I expect to get <em>paid</em>.&rdquo;
zh_TW: 「有時候我為自由軟體工作，有時候我為專有軟體工作，但我為專有軟體工作時，我是要得到<em>收入</em>。」

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: He was willing to share his work with a community that shares software, but saw no reason to give a handout to a business making products that would be off-limits to our community.  His goal was different from mine, but he decided that the GNU GPL was useful for his goal too.
zh_TW: 他願意在軟體分享的社群中分享他的軟體，但他沒有找到理由把軟體交給商業公司去生產對社群來說是禁區的產品。他的目標和我不同，但他仍舊認為 GNU GPL 對他的目標來說是有用的。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: If you want to accomplish something in the world, idealism is not enough&mdash;you need to choose a method that works to achieve the goal.  In other words, you need to be &ldquo;pragmatic.&rdquo; Is the GPL pragmatic? Let's look at its results.
zh_TW: 如果你想取得成就，理想主義是不夠的，你要選擇實現目標的適切方法。換句話說，你需要「務實」，那麼 GPL 夠不夠務實呢？我們來看看結果。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Consider GNU C++.  Why do we have a free C++ compiler? Only because the GNU GPL said it had to be free.  GNU C++ was developed by an industry consortium, MCC, starting from the GNU C compiler.  MCC normally makes its work as proprietary as can be.  But they made the C++ front end free software, because the GNU GPL said that was the only way they could release it.  The C++ front end included many new files, but since they were meant to be linked with GCC, the GPL did apply to them.  The benefit to our community is evident.
zh_TW: 想一想 GNU C++。為什麼我們要有自由的 C++ 編譯器？就只是因為 GNU GPL 說它必須是自由的。GNU C++ 是由一個行業聯盟 MCC 所開發的。MCC 通常會使其產品盡量成為專有的。但他們讓 C++ 前端成為自由軟體，因為 GNU GPL 說只有這樣他們才能釋出這個編譯器。C++ 前端包含了許多新檔案，但因為它們都是由 GCC 所連結的，GPL 自然涵蓋了這些檔案。這對社群的好處顯而易見。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Consider GNU Objective C.  NeXT initially wanted to make this front end proprietary; they proposed to release it as <samp>.o</samp> files, and let users link them with the rest of GCC, thinking this might be a way around the GPL's requirements.  But our lawyer said that this would not evade the requirements, that it was not allowed.  And so they made the Objective C front end free software.
zh_TW: 再想想 GNU Objective C。NeXT 本來想讓這個前端專有化；他們提議使用 <samp>.o</samp> 檔案的形式釋出，讓我們將其與 GCC 的其他部份連結，藉此想要躲過 GPL 的要求。但我們的律師說，即使是這樣也不能躲過 GPL 的要求，因為不能這樣做，所以他們讓 Objective C 前端變成了自由軟體。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Those examples happened years ago, but the GNU GPL continues to bring us more free software.
zh_TW: 雖然這些例子都發生在數年之前，但 GNU GPL 仍在繼續帶給我們更多的自由軟體。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Many GNU libraries are covered by the GNU Lesser General Public License, but not all.  One GNU library which is covered by the ordinary GNU GPL is Readline, which implements command-line editing.  I once found out about a nonfree program which was designed to use Readline, and told the developer this was not allowed.  He could have taken command-line editing out of the program, but what he actually did was rerelease it under the GPL.  Now it is free software.
zh_TW: GNU 較寬鬆公共授權條款涵蓋了許多 GNU 函式庫，但並不是全部。其中一個使用 GNU GPL 授權的 GNU 函式庫是 Readline，其實作了命令行編輯。我曾經發現某個非自由軟體設計為使用 Readline，我就告訴開發者不能這麼做。他可以不做命令列編輯功能，但他實際上使用了 GPL 釋出。現在它也是自由軟體了。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: The programmers who write improvements to GCC (or Emacs, or Bash, or Linux, or any GPL-covered program) are often employed by companies or universities.  When the programmer wants to return his improvements to the community, and see his code in the next release, the boss may say, &ldquo;Hold on there&mdash;your code belongs to us! We don't want to share it; we have decided to turn your improved version into a proprietary software product.&rdquo;
zh_TW: 為 GCC（或 Emacs、Bash、Linux 或任何使用 GPL 授權的軟體）編寫改進的程式設計師通常受雇於公司或大學。當程式設計師想要將其改善回饋到社群，並出現在下一個版本時，其雇主可能會說「等一下，你的程式碼是屬於我們的！我們不想要分享它；我們決定讓你的改進版本變成專有軟體產品。」

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Here the GNU GPL comes to the rescue.  The programmer shows the boss that this proprietary software product would be copyright infringement, and the boss realizes that he has only two choices: release the new code as free software, or not at all.  Almost always he lets the programmer do as he intended all along, and the code goes into the next release.
zh_TW: GNU GPL 在此伸出援手。程式設計師可以告訴其雇主這個專有軟體侵犯了著作權，此時雇主會注意到他只有兩種選擇：讓新的程式碼成為自由軟體，或不要釋出。大部份情況下，雇主都會讓程式設計師按照自己的意願進行，程式碼會出現在上游的下一個版本中。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: The GNU GPL is not Mr. Nice Guy.  It says no to some of the things that people sometimes want to do.  There are users who say that this is a bad thing&mdash;that the GPL &ldquo;excludes&rdquo; some proprietary software developers who &ldquo;need to be brought into the free software community.&rdquo;
zh_TW: GNU GPL 不是好好先生。它會向人們想做的某些事說不。有使用者會說這是很糟糕的事情，如果 GPL「排除」某些專有軟體開發者，而他們需要被帶到自由軟體社群的時候。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: But we are not excluding them from our community; they are choosing not to enter.  Their decision to make software proprietary is a decision to stay out of our community.  Being in our community means joining in cooperation with us; we cannot &ldquo;bring them into our community&rdquo; if they don't want to join.
zh_TW: 但我們並沒有排除他們；是他們選擇不加入。他們決定編寫專有軟體就是決定待在社群外面。加入社群意味著加入合作；我們不能「帶他們進來」，尤其是如果他們不想加入的話。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: What we <em>can</em> do is offer them an inducement to join.  The GNU GPL is designed to make an inducement from our existing software: &ldquo;If you will make your software free, you can use this code.&rdquo; Of course, it won't win 'em all, but it wins some of the time.
zh_TW: 我們<em>能</em>做的就是為他們提供加入的誘因。GNU GPL 的設計就是針對我們已有的軟體的誘因：「如果你讓你的軟體自由，那你就可以使用我們的程式碼。」當然，這並不能贏得所有人，但至少可以贏得一部份的人。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Proprietary software development does not contribute to our community, but its developers often want handouts from us.  Free software users can offer free software developers strokes for the ego&mdash;recognition and gratitude&mdash;but it can be very tempting when a business tells you, &ldquo;Just let us put your package in our proprietary program, and your program will be used by many thousands of people!&rdquo; The temptation can be powerful, but in the long run we are all better off if we resist it.
zh_TW: 專有軟體開發對我們的社群並沒有貢獻，但是其開發者經常想伸手跟我們拿東西。自由軟體使用者可以給自由軟體開發者贊賞，但是如果有商人告訴你「只要讓我們把你的軟體包放到我們的專有程式中，你的程式就會被成千上萬的人使用！」這可能非常具誘惑力，但如果我們抵擋得住，長期來看我們可以變得更好。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: The temptation and pressure are harder to recognize when they come indirectly, through free software organizations that have adopted a policy of catering to proprietary software.  The X Consortium (and its successor, the Open Group) offers an example: funded by companies that made proprietary software, they strived for a decade to persuade programmers not to use copyleft.  When the Open Group tried to <a href="/philosophy/x.html">make X11R6.4 nonfree software</a>, those of us who had resisted that pressure were glad that we did.
zh_TW: 當誘惑與壓力不是直接過來，而是透過接納了迎合專有軟體政策的的自由軟體組織而來的時候，它們就更難被認出。X 協會（及其繼承者，開放團體）就是一個例子：由製造專有軟體的公司贊助，他們這麼多年來一直努力說服程式設計師不要使用著作傳。當開放團體試圖<a href="/philosophy/x.html">使 X11R6.4 變成非自由軟體</a>時，我們抵抗住了，我們也很高興我們做到了。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: In September 1998, several months after X11R6.4 was released with nonfree distribution terms, the Open Group reversed its decision and rereleased it under the same noncopyleft free software license that was used for X11R6.3.  Thank you, Open Group&mdash;but this subsequent reversal does not invalidate the conclusions we draw from the fact that adding the restrictions was <em>possible</em>.
zh_TW: 1998年9月，在 X11R6.4 以非自由的授權條款釋出幾個月後，開放團體推翻了其決定並重新按照與 X116.3 相同的非著作傳條款發佈了這個版本。謝謝你，開放團體。但是這次的推翻並不能推翻我們的結論，也就是加入限制依然是<em>可能</em>的這件事情。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Pragmatically speaking, thinking about greater long-term goals will strengthen your will to resist this pressure.  If you focus your mind on the freedom and community that you can build by staying firm, you will find the strength to do it.  &ldquo;Stand for something, or you will fall for anything.&rdquo;
zh_TW: 務實地說，考慮更長遠的目標會增強我們抵抗壓力的力量。如果你把思想集中在自由和社群上，而社群是你靠堅定團結建立的，那麼你就會找到抵抗壓力的力量。「堅持，否則你會一事無成。」

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: And if cynics ridicule freedom, ridicule community&hellip;if &ldquo;hard-nosed realists&rdquo; say that profit is the only ideal&hellip;just ignore them, and use copyleft all the same.
zh_TW: 如果憤世嫉俗者嘲笑自由、諷刺社群……如果「頑固的現實主義者」說利益是唯一的理想……只要忽略他們，並一如既往地繼續使用著作傳。

note: type: Content of: <blockquote><p>
en: This essay is published in <a href="http://shop.fsf.org/product/free-software-free-society/"><cite>Free Software, Free Society: The Selected Essays of Richard M. Stallman</cite></a>.
zh_TW: 本文發表於<a href="http://shop.fsf.org/product/free-software-free-society/"><cite>自由軟體，自由社會：理查史托曼文選</cite></a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_TW: 請來信到 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 詢問有關自由軟體基金會（FSF）和 GNU 的一般問題；或者<a href="/contact/">以其他方式</a>聯絡自由軟體基金會。至於損毀的連結及其他修正和建議，可以將之寄給 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and submitting translations of this article.
zh_TW: 我們努力盡所能提供貼切、品質良善的翻譯。然而，我們無法十全十美，還請將你的意見評述與一般建議寄給 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p>
    <p>請參照 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">翻譯讀我 README</a> 來瞭解協調和提交我們的網頁翻譯相關事宜。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/3.0/us/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 United States License</a>.
zh_TW: 本頁面採用<a rel="license" href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/3.0/us/">創用 CC 姓名標示-禁止改作 3.0 美國</a>條款給予授權。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_TW: <b>翻譯</b>：黃柏諺 <a href="mailto:s8321414 (at) gmail (dot) com">&lt;s8321414 (at) gmail (dot) com&gt;</a>, 2019.

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_TW: 更新時間︰
