programs-must-not-limit-freedom-to-run.html - en to zh_TW translation catalogue (24 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Why programs must not limit the freedom to run them - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_TW: 為什麼不應該限制人們執行程式的自由 - GNU 專案 - 自由軟體基金會

note: type: Content of: <h2>
en: Why programs must not limit the freedom to run them
zh_TW: 為什麼不應該限制人們執行程式的自由

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: by <a href="http://www.stallman.org/">Richard Stallman</a>
zh_TW: 作者為 <a href="http://www.stallman.org/">Richard Stallman</a>

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Free software means software controlled by its users, rather than the reverse. Specifically, it means the software comes with <a href="http://www.gnu.org/philosophy/free-sw.html">four essential freedoms that software users deserve</a>. At the head of the list is freedom 0, the freedom to run the program as you wish, in order to do what you wish.
zh_TW: 自由軟體是指由使用者所控制的軟體，而不是反過來。也就是說，軟體具有<a href="http://www.gnu.org/philosophy/free-sw.html">軟體使用者應有的四種基本自由</a>。列表的開頭就是自由之零，亦即依照你的想法執行該程式的自由，無論任何目的。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Some developers propose to place usage restrictions in software licenses to ban using the program for certain purposes, but that would be a disastrous path. This article explains why freedom 0 must not be limited. Conditions to limit the use of a program would achieve little of their aims, but could wreck the free software community.
zh_TW: 某些開發者建議在軟體的授權條款加入不能用於某些用途的限制，但這是一條災難性的不歸路。本文會解釋為什麼不能限制自由之零。這類限制幾乎沒有任何好處，而且可能會讓自由軟體社群分崩離析。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: First of all, let's be clear what freedom 0 means. It means that the distribution of the software does not restrict how you use it.  This doesn't make you exempt from laws. For instance, fraud is a crime in the US&mdash;a law which I think is right and proper.  Whatever the free software license says, using a free program to carry out your fraud won't shield you from prosecution.
zh_TW: 首先，讓我們釐清自由之零的意義。這意味著軟體的散佈不能限制您使用它的方式。但這並不表示您就因此而可以免於法律的制裁。舉例來說，欺詐在美國是犯罪，我認為這是一項正確且恰當的法律。不論是哪個自由軟體授權條款，使用自由軟體來進行欺詐都是違法的。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: A license condition against fraud would be superfluous in a country where fraud is a crime. But why not a condition against using it for torture, a practice that states frequently condone when carried out by the &ldquo;security forces&rdquo;?
zh_TW: 在欺詐視為犯罪的國家，防止欺詐的授權條款是多餘的。但是為什麼不加一個條款禁止自由軟體用於酷刑呢？畢竟國家對於「安全部隊」在執行酷刑時經常睜一隻眼閉一隻眼。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: A condition against torture would not work, because enforcement of any free software license is done through the state. A state that wants to carry out torture will ignore the license. When victims of US torture try suing the US government, courts dismiss the cases on the grounds that their treatment is a national security secret. If a software developer tried to sue the US government for using a program for torture against the conditions of its license, that suit would be dismissed too. In general, states are clever at making legal excuses for whatever terrible things they want to do. Businesses with powerful lobbies can do it too.
zh_TW: 禁止酷刑的條款並沒有辦法落實執行，因為任何自由軟體授權條款都是由國家來執行的。想要執行酷刑的國家就會選擇忽略這類條款。當美國酷刑的受害者試圖起訴美國政府時，法院將會駁回這些訴訟，理由是他們的被對待的情況是國家機密。如果軟體開發者試圖以將其軟體用於酷刑為理由，控訴美國政輔違反其條款，這類起訴也會被駁回。一般來說，各國都會為其想做的可怕的事情想好合法的藉口。擁有強大遊說團體的企業也能做到一樣的事情。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: What if the condition were against some specialized private activity? For instance, PETA proposed a license that would forbid use of the software to cause pain to animals with a spinal column. Or there might be a condition against using a certain program to make or publish drawings of Mohammad. Or against its use in experiments with embryonic stem cells. Or against using it to make unauthorized copies of musical recordings.
zh_TW: 那麼可以加一些條款用來禁止某些特別的私人活動嗎？舉例來說，PETA 可能會提出不得使用軟體對脊索動物造成傷害的授權條款。或是例如加一個條款禁止使用特定程式來製作或發佈穆罕默德肖像。又或是禁止程式用於胚胎實驗。或是禁止用於製作未經授權的音樂副本等等。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: It is not clear these would be enforcible. Free software licenses are based on copyright law, and trying to impose usage conditions that way is stretching what copyright law permits, stretching it in a dangerous way. Would you like books to carry license conditions about how you can use the information in them?
zh_TW: 這些條款到底有沒有辦法強制執行？這是存疑的。自由軟體授權條款是以版權法規為基礎，試圖以這種方式強加使用條件通常已超過版權法規的允許範圍，並以相當危險的方式拓展它。試想：如果書籍的授權條款限制你只能在某些情況下應用書中的資訊會怎樣？

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: What if such conditions are legally enforcible&mdash;would that be good?
zh_TW: 如果這些條件在法律上可以強制執行會怎樣？這是好事嗎？

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: The fact is, people have very different ethical ideas about the activities that might be done using software. I happen to think those four unusual activities are legitimate and should not be forbidden.  In particular I support the use of software for medical experiments on animals, and for processing meat. I defend the human rights of animal right activists but I don't agree with them; I would not want PETA to get its way in restricting the use of software.
zh_TW: 事實上，軟體可以應用於各式各樣的活動，而人們對於每種活動都有相當紛歧的道德觀。我恰巧認為這四種不尋常的活動是合法的，而且不應該被禁止。特別是我支持使用軟體對動物進行醫學實驗，以及用於處理肉類。我捍衛動物權利活動家的人權，但我不同意他們的觀點，我不想讓 PETA 可以限制軟體的使用方式。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Since I am not a pacifist, I would also disagree with a &ldquo;no military use&rdquo; provision. I condemn wars of aggression but I don't condemn fighting back. In fact, I have supported efforts to convince various armies to switch to free software, since they can check it for back doors and surveillance features that could imperil national security.
zh_TW: 由於我不是和平主義者，所以我也不同意「非軍事使用」條款。我譴責侵略戰爭，但我並不反對反擊。事實上，我支持軍隊切換到自由軟體的各種努力，因為這樣他們就可以檢查後門與可能危害國家安全的監視功能。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Since I am not against business in general, I would oppose a restriction against commercial use. A system that we could use only for recreation, hobbies and school is off limits to much of what we do with computers.
zh_TW: 一般來說我也不反對商業，所以我反對限制商業用途。一個只准用於娛樂、愛好與教育的軟體系統對於我們日常會拿電腦來做的事來說太狹隘了。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: I've stated some of my views about other political issues, about activities that are or aren't unjust. Your views might differ, and that's precisely the point. If we accepted programs with usage restrictions as part of a free operating system such as GNU, people would come up with lots of different usage restrictions. There would be programs banned for use in meat processing, programs banned only for pigs, programs banned only for cows, and programs limited to kosher foods. Someone who hates spinach might write a program allowing use for processing any vegetable except spinach, while a Popeye fan might allow use only for spinach. There would be music programs allowed only for rap music, and others allowed only for classical music.
zh_TW: 我已經闡述了對其它政治問題的一些看法，如關於可能符合或不符合正義的活動。你的觀點可能會有所不同，這正是重點所在。如果我們接受帶有使用限制的軟體作為如 GNU 之類的自由作業系統的一部份，人們會提出許多不同的使用限制。可能會有禁止用於肉類加工的軟體、只禁止用於豬隻的軟體、只禁止用於乳牛的軟體以及僅限於猶太食品的軟體。某個討厭菠菜的人可能會寫一個只能用來加工除了菠菜以外的任何蔬菜的程式。也可能會有只能用於 RAP 的音樂程式，另外的某些程式也許只能用於古典樂。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: The result would be a system that you could not count on for any purpose. For each task you wish to do, you'd have to check lots of licenses to see which parts of your system are off limits for that task.
zh_TW: 結果將會是一個你無法用於任何用途的系統。因為每次只要你想做什麼事情，你都必須檢查許多授權條款來看看系統中的哪些部份不受此工作限制。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: How would users respond to that? I think most of them would use proprietary systems. Allowing any usage restrictions whatsoever in free software would mainly push users towards nonfree software.  Trying to stop users from doing something through usage restrictions in free software is as ineffective as pushing on an object through a long, soft, straight piece of spaghetti.
zh_TW: 使用者會如何回應？我認為此時他們反而多數會使用專有系統。在自由軟體授權裡允許加上各式各樣的限制條款將會導致使用者流向非自由軟體。試圖透過自由軟體中的使用限制條款來防止使用者做某些事就像是想要拿又長、又直、又軟的義大利麵來推動物體一樣徒勞無功。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: It is worse than ineffective; it is wrong too, because software developers should not exercise such power over what users do. Imagine selling pens with conditions about what you can write with them; that would be noisome, and we should not stand for it. Likewise for general software. If you make something that is generally useful, like a pen, people will use it to write all sorts of things, even horrible things such as orders to torture a dissident; but you must not have the power to control people's activities through their pens.  It is the same for a text editor, compiler or kernel.
zh_TW: 甚至比徒勞無功更糟糕，這也是錯誤的，因為軟體開發者不應該有如此權力凌駕於使用者之上。想像一下，賣筆的時候加上一些授權條款限定只能用它來寫某些主題或內容，這會非常令人厭惡，我們不應該支持這類條款。軟體也一樣。如果你創做出了具有通用價值的東西，例如筆，人們可能會用它來書寫任何東西，甚至是可怕的東西，像是折磨持不同政見者的一紙命令，但你沒有權力透過筆控制人們的活動。文字編輯器、編譯器或是核心也是如此。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: You do have an opportunity to determine what your software can be used for: when you decide what functionality to implement. You can write programs that lend themselves mainly to uses you think are positive, and you have no obligation to write any features that might lend themselves to activities you disapprove of.
zh_TW: 當你決定你要實作哪些功能時，你確實有機會可以決定你的軟體可用於什麼地方。你可以編寫主要用於你認為是正面用途的軟體，而且你沒有義務編寫任何你認為可能會用於不當活動的功能。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: The conclusion is clear: a program must not restrict what jobs its users do with it. Freedom 0 must be complete. We need to stop torture, but we can't do it through software licenses. The proper job of software licenses is to establish and protect users' freedom.
zh_TW: 結論很清楚：程式不能限制使用者要拿它來做哪些工作。自由之零必須完整。我們必須停止酷刑，但我們不能透過軟體授權條款來做這件事。軟體授權條款適當的任務是建立並保護使用者的自由。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_TW: 請來信到 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 詢問有關自由軟體基金會（FSF）和 GNU 的一般問題；或者<a href="/contact/">以其他方式</a>聯絡自由軟體基金會。至於損毀的連結及其他修正和建議，可以將之寄給 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and submitting translations of this article.
zh_TW: 我們努力盡所能提供貼切、品質良善的翻譯。然而，我們無法十全十美，還請將你的意見評述與一般建議寄給 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p>
    <p>請參照 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">翻譯讀我 README</a> 來瞭解協調和提交我們的網頁翻譯相關事宜。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
zh_TW: 本頁面採用<a rel="license" href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/deed.zh_TW">創用 CC 姓名標示-禁止改作 4.0 國際</a>條款給予授權。

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_TW: 更新時間︰
