why-gnu-linux.html - en to zh_TW translation catalogue (28 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Why GNU/Linux? - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_TW: 為什麼應該是 GNU/Linux？ - GNU 專案 - 自由軟體基金會

note: type: Content of: <h2>
en: What's in a Name?
zh_TW: 名字裡應該要有什麼？

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: <strong>by <a href="http://www.stallman.org/">Richard Stallman</a></strong>
zh_TW: <strong>作者為 <a href="http://www.stallman.org/">Richard Stallman</a></strong>

note: type: Content of: <div><blockquote><p>
en: To learn more about this issue, you can read our <a href="/gnu/gnu-linux-faq.html">GNU/Linux FAQ</a>, our page on <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">Linux and the GNU Project</a>, which gives a history of the GNU/Linux system as it relates to this issue of naming, and our page on <a href="/gnu/gnu-users-never-heard-of-gnu.html">GNU Users Who Have Never Heard of GNU</a>.
zh_TW: 要知道關於此議題的更多詳細資訊，你可以閱讀我們的 <a href="/gnu/gnu-linux-faq.html">GNU/Linux FAQ</a>、我們位於 <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">Linux 與 GNU 專案</a>的頁面，其中包含了 GNU/Linux 系統命名爭議的歷史，還有我們位於<a href="/gnu/gnu-users-never-heard-of-gnu.html">從未 聽過 GNU 的 GNU 使用者</a>。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Names convey meanings; our choice of names determines the meaning of what we say.  An inappropriate name gives people the wrong idea.  A rose by any other name would smell as sweet&mdash;but if you call it a pen, people will be rather disappointed when they try to write with it.  And if you call pens &ldquo;roses&rdquo;, people may not realize what they are good for.  If you call our operating system Linux, that conveys a mistaken idea of the system's origin, history, and purpose.  If you call it <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a>, that conveys (though not in detail) an accurate idea.
zh_TW: 名稱傳達了意義；我們對名稱的選擇決定了我們說出來的話的含義。不恰當的名字會傳達給人們錯誤的想法。有著其他名字的玫瑰聞起來依然甜美，但如果你把它叫作筆，那麼人們想要用它來寫字時就會很失望。而如果你把筆稱作「玫瑰」，人們可能沒辦法理解它們有什麼用。如果你把我們的作業系統稱作 Linux，那就是錯誤的理解系統的起源、歷史與目的。如果你把它稱為 <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a>，那麼你就傳達了（雖然不夠詳細）準確的概念。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Does this really matter for our community? Is it important whether people know the system's origin, history, and purpose? Yes&mdash;because people who forget history are often condemned to repeat it.  The Free World that has developed around <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> is not guaranteed to survive; the problems that led us to develop GNU are not completely eradicated, and they threaten to come back.
zh_TW: 這對我們的社群來說真的重要嗎？人們是否了解系統的起源、歷史與目的重要嗎？當然重要，因為忘了歷史的人常被譴責重蹈覆轍。圍繞著 <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> 所建立起來的自由世界並不保證會永遠的流傳下去；促使我們開發 GNU 的麻煩並未根除，而且他們威脅著要捲土重來。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: When I explain why it's appropriate to call the operating system GNU/Linux rather than Linux, people sometimes respond this way:
zh_TW: 當我解釋為什麼應該要叫作業系統 GNU/Linux 而非 Linux 時，人們常常會這樣回應：

note: type: Content of: <blockquote><p>
en: <em> Granted that the GNU Project deserves credit for this work, is it really worth a fuss when people don't give credit? Isn't the important thing that the job was done, not who did it? You ought to relax, take pride in the job well done, and not worry about the credit.  </em>
zh_TW: <em>即使 GNU 專案應該獲得這些榮譽，但人們沒有給予榮譽就值得大驚小怪嗎？難道重要的不是工作已經完成，而是誰完成的嗎？你應該放鬆一下，為工作完成而自豪，而不是擔心有沒有獲得榮譽。</em>

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: This would be wise advice, if only the situation were like that&mdash;if the job were done and it were time to relax.  If only that were true! But challenges abound, and this is no time to take the future for granted.  Our community's strength rests on commitment to freedom and cooperation.  Using the name <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> is a way for people to remind themselves and inform others of these goals.
zh_TW: 這是明智的建議，如果情況就只是這樣的話，如果工作已經完成，那當然可以好好放鬆。但是情況必須真的是這樣才行！但還有許多挑戰，而未來也絲毫不得馬虎。我們社群的力量在於對自由與合作的承諾。使用 <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> 這個名字就是人們提醒自己與告知他人這些目標的一種手段。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: It is possible to write good free software without thinking of GNU; much good work has been done in the name of Linux also.  But the term &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; has been associated ever since it was first coined with a philosophy that does not make a commitment to the freedom to cooperate.  As the name is increasingly used by business, we will have even more trouble making it connect with community spirit.
zh_TW: 不用考慮 GNU 也可以編寫出優秀的自由軟體；以 Linux 為名也誕生了很多優秀的作品。但從第一次被創造出來開始，&ldquo;Linux&rdquo; 一詞就代表了一種哲學，它並不承諾自由合作。隨著企業愈來愈常使用這個名字，我們就愈來愈難將其與社群精神連結起來。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: A great challenge to the future of free software comes from the tendency of the &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; distribution companies to add nonfree software to <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> in the name of convenience and power.  All the major commercial distribution developers do this; none limits itself to free software.  Most of them do not clearly identify the nonfree packages in their distributions.  Many even develop nonfree software and add it to the system.  Some outrageously advertise &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; systems that are &ldquo;licensed per seat&rdquo;, which give the user as much freedom as Microsoft Windows.
zh_TW: 自由軟體未來的巨大挑戰包含了來自 &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; 散佈公司以方便與功能強大的名義向 <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> 加入非自由軟體。所有主要的商業散佈版的開發者都這麼做；沒有人把自己限制在自由軟體的範圍內。其中大多數並未在其散佈版內標示非自由軟體。很多開發者甚至開發非自由軟體，並將其加入到系統中。有些甚至宣傳 &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; 系統是「按使用者數量授權」的，也就是只和 Microsoft Windows 給使用者的自由一樣多。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: People try to justify adding nonfree software in the name of the &ldquo;popularity of Linux&rdquo;&mdash;in effect, valuing popularity above freedom.  Sometimes this is openly admitted.  For instance, Wired Magazine said that Robert McMillan, editor of Linux Magazine, &ldquo;feels that the move toward open source software should be fueled by technical, rather than political, decisions.&rdquo; And Caldera's <acronym title="Chief Executive Officer">CEO</acronym> openly urged users to <a href="http://www.zdnet.com/article/stallman-love-is-not-free/">drop the goal of freedom and work instead for the &ldquo;popularity of Linux&rdquo;</a>.
zh_TW: 人們試圖以「Linux 的受歡迎程度」來為加入非自由軟體辯護，實際上就是認為「自由誠可貴，流行價更高」。有時這是被公開承認的。舉例來說，《連線》雜誌說 Robert McMillan（亦即 Linux 雜誌的編輯）「覺得開放原始碼軟體前進的動力應該取決於技術，而非政治。」而 Caldera 的執行長更是公開敦促使用者<a href="http://www.zdnet.com/article/stallman-love-is-not-free/">放棄自由的目標，而應該為了「Linux 的流行」而努力</a>。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Adding nonfree software to the <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> system may increase the popularity, if by popularity we mean the number of people using some of <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> in combination with nonfree software.  But at the same time, it implicitly encourages the community to accept nonfree software as a good thing, and forget the goal of freedom.  It is not good to drive faster if you can't stay on the road.
zh_TW: 將非自由軟體加入到 <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> 系統可能會提高受歡迎的程度，如果這是指使用 <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> 加上使用某些非自由軟體的人數。但同時，這也代表了社群會像接受一件好事那樣接受非自由軟體，並且忘記自由的目標。如果實際上南轅北轍，那走得再快也不是好事。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: When the nonfree &ldquo;add-on&rdquo; is a library or programming tool, it can become a trap for free software developers.  When they write free software that depends on the nonfree package, their software cannot be part of a completely free system.  Motif and Qt trapped large amounts of free software in this way in the past, creating problems whose solutions took years.  Motif remained somewhat of a problem until it became obsolete and was no longer used.  Later, Sun's nonfree Java implementation had a similar effect: the <a href="/philosophy/java-trap.html">Java Trap</a>, fortunately now mostly corrected.
zh_TW: 當非自由的「附加元件」是函式庫或程式設計工具，它可能會變成自由軟體開發者的陷阱。當他們編寫依賴於非自由軟體包的自由軟體時。Motif 與 Qt 過去以這種方式困住了很多自由軟體，而導致的問題花費了數年的時間才得以解決。Motif 的問題直至其被淘汰而不再使用者才完全消除。後來，昇陽的非自由 Java 實作也有一樣的效果：幸好 <a href="/philosophy/java-trap.html">Java 陷阱</a>現在大多已被修正。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: If our community keeps moving in this direction, it could redirect the future of <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> into a mosaic of free and nonfree components.  Five years from now, we will surely still have plenty of free software; but if we are not careful, it will hardly be usable without the nonfree software that users expect to find with it.  If this happens, our campaign for freedom will have failed.
zh_TW: 如果我們的社群繼續朝這個方向發展，<a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> 的未來就會變成自由與非自由元件的鑲嵌體。五年之後，我們仍會有大量的自由軟體；但是只要我們一不小心，GNU/Linux 將會變得一旦使用者找不到其期待的非自由軟體的就無法使用。如果發生這種狀況，那我們的自由運動就失敗了。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: If releasing free alternatives were simply a matter of programming, solving future problems might become easier as our community's development resources increase.  But we face obstacles that threaten to make this harder: laws that prohibit free software.  As software patents mount up, and as laws like the <acronym title="Digital Millennium Copyright Act">DMCA</acronym> are used to prohibit the development of free software for important jobs such as viewing a DVD or listening to a RealAudio stream, we will find ourselves with no clear way to fight the patented and secret data formats except to <strong>reject the nonfree programs that use them</strong>.
zh_TW: 如果釋出自由的替代方案只是程式設計的問題話，隨著社群的開發資源增加，解決問題應該只會變得更容易。但我們正面臨揚言要使其變得更困難的威脅：禁止自由軟體的法律。隨著軟體專利的增長，以及諸如 <acronym title="數位千禧年著作權法">DMCA</acronym> 等禁止開發用於觀看 DVD 或聆聽 RealAudio 串流的自由軟體的法律，我們將會發現，除了<strong>拒絕使用非自由軟體以外</strong>，我們沒有任何方法可以與這些專利與祕密資料格式戰鬥。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: Meeting these challenges will require many different kinds of effort.  But what we need above all, to confront any kind of challenge, is to remember the goal of freedom to cooperate.  We can't expect a mere desire for powerful, reliable software to motivate people to make great efforts.  We need the kind of determination that people have when they fight for their freedom and their community&mdash;determination to keep on for years and not give up.
zh_TW: 應對這些挑戰需要許多不同的不同的努力。但要面對任何挑戰之前，我們首先需要的是記住自由合作的目標。我們不能期待僅對強大可靠的渴望就能激勵人們付出很大的努力。我們需要的是人們在為自由與社群戰鬥時所展現的決心，亦即能夠持續多年不放棄的決心。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: In our community, this goal and this determination emanate mainly from the GNU Project.  We're the ones who talk about freedom and community as something to stand firm for; the organizations that speak of &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; normally don't say this.  The magazines about &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; are typically full of ads for nonfree software; the companies that package &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; add nonfree software to the system; other companies &ldquo;support Linux&rdquo; by developing nonfree applications to run on GNU/Linux; the user groups for &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; typically invite salesman to present those applications.  The main place people in our community are likely to come across the idea of freedom and determination is in the GNU Project.
zh_TW: 在我們的社群中，這個目標與決心主要源自於 GNU 專案。我們是堅定談論關於自由與社群的那一群人；而為 &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; 說話的那些組織通常不會討論這個。關於 &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; 的雜誌通充滿了非自由軟體的廣告；打包 &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; 系統的公司將非自由軟體放到系統中；其他公司透過開發在 GNU/Linux 上執行的非自由軟體來支援 &ldquo;Linux&rdquo;；&ldquo;Linux&rdquo; 使用者群組則會邀請這些軟體的銷售員。社群中的人們可能會碰到自由與決心的地方就是 GNU 專案。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: But when people come across it, will they feel it relates to them?
zh_TW: 但當人們碰到它的時候，他們還會覺得跟自己有關嗎？

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: People who know they are using a system that came out of the GNU Project can see a direct relationship between themselves and GNU.  They won't automatically agree with our philosophy, but at least they will see a reason to think seriously about it.  In contrast, people who consider themselves &ldquo;Linux users&rdquo;, and believe that the GNU Project &ldquo;developed tools which proved to be useful in Linux&rdquo;, typically perceive only an indirect relationship between GNU and themselves.  They may just ignore the GNU philosophy when they come across it.
zh_TW: 那些知道他們的在用的系統是來自於 GNU 專案可以看到他們與 GNU 的直接關係。他們不會自動同意我們的理念，但是他們至少有理由認真思考一下這個問題。反過來，那些認為自己是「Linux 使用者」，並且認為 GNU 專案「開發了一些有用的 Linux 工具」，往往只是意識到自己和 GNU 的非直接關係。在看到 GNU 的理念時，他們可能只會直接略過。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: The GNU Project is idealistic, and anyone encouraging idealism today faces a great obstacle: the prevailing ideology encourages people to dismiss idealism as &ldquo;impractical&rdquo;.  Our idealism has been extremely practical: it is the reason we have a free <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> operating system.  People who love this system ought to know that it is our idealism made real.
zh_TW: GNU 專案是理想主義的，而今支持理想主義的人都會遇到巨大的障礙；主流的觀念是促使人們拋棄理想主義，因為那是「不切實際的」。我們的理想主義是完全切合實際的：正因如此，所以我們才有了一個自由的 <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> 作業系統。喜愛這個系統人們應該要了解到正是因為我們的理想主義才得以使這個系統成為現實。

note: type: Content of: <p>
en: If &ldquo;the job&rdquo; really were done, if there were nothing at stake except credit, perhaps it would be wiser to let the matter drop.  But we are not in that position.  To inspire people to do the work that needs to be done, we need to be recognized for what we have already done.  Please help us, by calling the operating system <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a>.
zh_TW: 如果「工作」已經完成，如果除了榮譽以外沒有其它事情可做，那麼就此罷手或許是個比較好的選擇。但情況並非如此。為了激勵人們去完成必要的工作，我們需要人們認同我們已經完成的工作。請協助我們，請稱這個作業系統為 <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a>。

note: type: Content of: <blockquote><p>
en: This essay is published in <a href="http://shop.fsf.org/product/free-software-free-society/"> <cite>Free Software, Free Society: The Selected Essays of Richard M. Stallman</cite></a>.
zh_TW: 本文發表於<a href="http://shop.fsf.org/product/free-software-free-society/"><cite>自由軟體，自由社會：理查史托曼文選</cite></a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_TW: 請來信到 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 詢問有關自由軟體基金會（FSF）和 GNU 的一般問題；或者<a href="/contact/">以其他方式</a>聯絡自由軟體基金會。至於損毀的連結及其他修正和建議，可以將之寄給 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and submitting translations of this article.
zh_TW: 我們努力盡所能提供貼切、品質良善的翻譯。然而，我們無法十全十美，還請將你的意見評述與一般建議寄給 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p>
    <p>請參照 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">翻譯讀我 README</a> 來瞭解協調和提交我們的網頁翻譯相關事宜。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
zh_TW: 本頁面採用<a rel="license" href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/deed.zh_TW">創用 CC 姓名標示-禁止改作 4.0 國際</a>條款給予授權。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_TW: <b>翻譯</b>：黃柏諺 <a href="mailto:s8321414 (at) gmail (dot) com">&lt;s8321414 (at) gmail (dot) com&gt;</a>, 2019.

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_TW: 更新時間︰
